Indian Curried Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
excellent and so simple! Afraid that it wouldn't be enough curry flavor,so I added one tsp. Perfect. Also didn't have pearl barley and pot barley worked great. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I doubled the amount of curry, but otherwise this had the perfect combination of spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This was pretty good, but while cooking it I decided to add some more curry and some cinnamon. Then I added in the raisins and nuts while it was still cooking. My son on the other hand didn't care for it--I guess it's not really a kid thing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye's the Limit

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arroyo Grande, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This is a great side-dish alternative to rice or potatoes. I added more curry and cinnamon for a bit more spicy flavor. The raisins add just the right touch of sweetness. The barley does not get soft and mushy but retains a little crunchiness. Perfect. This one is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I wouldn't serve this as a main dish, but as a side dish, it's a nice start. I added 1/2 cup of lentils along with some extra liquid. In addition, I added 1 tbsp each of ginger and garlic, more curry, and skipped the allspice. I love the idea of barley instead of rice. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
had this for dinner tonight and it was very good. My husband loved it and we will have this again. My 10 year old even liked it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was delicious! I need to make sure I have barley on hand now just to be able to make this dish. I'm not really a raisin-in-things person, so I didn't use any raisins, but otherwise followed the recipe. Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kumquatgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
my family loved this recipe...it was a great change from the regular sides. I did add more broth and curry, left out the raisons and nuts, and added spinach. I will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This looked great, but we found it disappointing - bland and boring. If you do make it, double the spices. You can also cut the butter to 2 tsp. oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Wow, even the kid liked this! A great alternative for rice. I usually make my curries with cinnamon, that was my only substitution. To make it a little more heart healthy I will replace the butter with olive oil when I make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States