Indian Curried Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Made this with non-fat/low sodium broth, doubled the curry powder, used a smidge over the 1/2 tsp. salt (kosher) and ground pepper. It was absolutely delish and so easy to prepare! WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohiosoup
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
It was good, however, my husband didn't like the raisins, and my children 5 and 4 didn't care for it. I thought the flavor was good, but apparently just not the right recipe for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was incredibly easy and tasty. My 8, 5 and 1 year olds loved it, in spite of their supposed dislike of onions! We left the slivered almonds and raisins as sides so the kids could choose whether or not to top their barley with either of those. Everyone was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was a very flavorful, change from your typical rice dish. I pretty much stuck to the recipe and I enjoyed the outcome. I didn't have almonds or raisin, so I left those out, but I imagine it'd be as yummy with them as it was without. I also added several splashes of hot sauce (since I love spicy) and it added a lot to the dish. For the person who thought it was bland, I'd recommend adding some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Excellent - and very healthy! I substituted ginger for the allspice, and doubled all the spices. I added shredded carrots & chopped zucchini - and left out the raisins & nuts this time around! I also used 1 can of chicken broth - and water to make up the difference. Very tasty!!! Now I want more! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
not bad at all. a bit bland, would add more curry powder next time. added raisins and almonds(yummy!). a good fast weekday dinner.served some cinnamon bread pudding for desert, worked well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayfordlaura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Wow, even the kid liked this! A great alternative for rice. I usually make my curries with cinnamon, that was my only substitution. To make it a little more heart healthy I will replace the butter with olive oil when I make it again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This looked great, but we found it disappointing - bland and boring. If you do make it, double the spices. You can also cut the butter to 2 tsp. oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
my family loved this recipe...it was a great change from the regular sides. I did add more broth and curry, left out the raisons and nuts, and added spinach. I will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This was delicious! I need to make sure I have barley on hand now just to be able to make this dish. I'm not really a raisin-in-things person, so I didn't use any raisins, but otherwise followed the recipe. Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kumquatgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States