Indian Curried Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
What is old is new again! I just got a pressure cooker--now completely safe with 3 safeguards--they don't blow up, no matter how hard you try! The cooking time is at least halved for most things. Some recipe cook times are cut by ten! This particular recipe can be done in 18 minutes! I am no longer spending my Sundays cooking. Bean soups, risottos, pilafs and even meatloaf with potatoes all in 10-20 minutes. Consider the fuel and electicity you'll save. Huge. No longer do I consider that I don't have time to cook barley, for example. It has revolutionized my cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I did, however make a few changes that I learned from the comments of other cooks on here (THANK YOU)! To start with, I used a 1/8 cup more butter, added garlic, carrots and lentils to the onions as they sauteed and more chicken stock than the recipe called for, probably about a cup more to help cook the lentils and carrots. I left out the raisins and almonds. I also added a cup of coconut milk and MORE THAN DOUBLED all of the spices. I used it as a main dish with some naan bread and raita and it was SO hearty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saunch09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hannah
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
As written a 4, but if you double the curry and allspice a definite 5. So wonderful! I also think it would be great with lentils, rice, or quinoa. Also, I strongly recommend using the raisins and almonds. They really put this dish over the top. I even added chicken and made it into a meal in itself. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Delicious! I omitted the raisins and added apple instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I totally loved this recipe. I did not use raisins but all else the same. Wow, what a flavor & healthy. I would recommend this to anyone! Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Like most people I doubled the curry and I also put the raisins in with the broth (I like them that way). It's not a strongly spiced dish as others have commented on, but the dish could take them if you wanted to add them. But the flavors are lovely anyway. I don't think anyone was trying to claim that it was Indian food, and for Indian-inspired it's fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! Cut the butter and just use enough oil to saute the onions and barley, double the spices, replace chicken broth with vegetable broth, added mushrooms, zucchini, and cherry tomatoes. The raisins with the spices were amazing. Served with salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I make it all the time. It's especially great to fool those who either a/don't like curry or b/don't like barley. Highly unlikely to find someone who won't like it. I think that all of the spices need to be eyeballed and are definitely a bit more than what it calls for, that is, if you care for flavor. Additionally to that, I add a little brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Doubled the curry, halved the allspice, cut out almonds and raisins. Used regular barley so it took a bit longer to cook but it was well worth it. This was the first time I had attempted to make anything using barley and I am kicking myself that I haven't tried it earlier. Tender, flavorful, this makes and excellent side for the savory chicken broccoli I made for dinner. Just what I needed. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
hard to know how this recipe would be on its own, as i followed the suggestions of other reviewers and doubled all the spices (with 8x the curry!...2 teaspoons, as i love curry). i omitted the almonds and put in cauliflower, frozen peas, and frozen corn). i also put in hot sauce. so, so, so good. the barley was so tender. i had never cooked barley before and found it to be like soft, yummy rice. it may very well replace rice for me in many dishes from now on. this dish is ideal for throwing in whatever vegetables you have in the house...spinach, peppers, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States