Indian Curried Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I wish I had read some reviews before making it but I was in a rush and wanted something new. Instinct told me that the amount of curry wasn't going to be enough so I doubled it. I still thought it was on the bland side. I plan to add garlic and increase the turmeric and pepper and will probably quadruple the curry powder. I liked the texture and it is a good way to add a healthful grain to the diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Made this for the first time this evening for dinner and it was a huge hit! In fact, this was the first time I ever cooked barley in my entire life, but now, thanks to this recipe, I'll definitely be making it again. I followed the recipe exactly as wroitten except I didn't add the raisins or the nuts. Thanks for posting this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Tasty. Probably didn't need to use all that butter but did anyway. Had to add about 1/2 tsp. more of the curry and turmeric to "up" the flavor. Used a scant half tsp. of salt. Also needed to simmer a tad big longer which required about 1/3 cup more broth. Overall was very tasty after making some minor alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Great side dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I like the flavor of this, and it is a nice change from the usual fast carbs. I did have to change it for my food plan. I used 1t smart balance and cooking spray instead of 1/4c butter. Cut the almonds amount in half. Also did not have curry powder so I substituted a mix of coriander, cumin and Chinese 5 spice. The combo actually worked quite well. The flavor is probably is much richer with butter, but since I'll never know for sure I will continue to enjoy as I made it. Thanks for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Excellent Vegetarian dish! If you don't have allspice substitute equal parts nutmeg, cinnamon and ground clove. I doubled the spices and used 1-1/4 teapoons of curry. Great dish for additions - I added peas and will try w/ carrots also next time. I only used 2T of butter to reduce fat and it was perfect. Toasted pine nuts would probably be a nice substitution for the almonds - but they can be pricey. If you add veggies - up the chicken broth by a 1/2 C - I used a 32 oz container of chicken stock and it was perfect. Definitely a keeper and will be making again (and again!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
What is old is new again! I just got a pressure cooker--now completely safe with 3 safeguards--they don't blow up, no matter how hard you try! The cooking time is at least halved for most things. Some recipe cook times are cut by ten! This particular recipe can be done in 18 minutes! I am no longer spending my Sundays cooking. Bean soups, risottos, pilafs and even meatloaf with potatoes all in 10-20 minutes. Consider the fuel and electicity you'll save. Huge. No longer do I consider that I don't have time to cook barley, for example. It has revolutionized my cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I did, however make a few changes that I learned from the comments of other cooks on here (THANK YOU)! To start with, I used a 1/8 cup more butter, added garlic, carrots and lentils to the onions as they sauteed and more chicken stock than the recipe called for, probably about a cup more to help cook the lentils and carrots. I left out the raisins and almonds. I also added a cup of coconut milk and MORE THAN DOUBLED all of the spices. I used it as a main dish with some naan bread and raita and it was SO hearty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saunch09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hannah
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
As written a 4, but if you double the curry and allspice a definite 5. So wonderful! I also think it would be great with lentils, rice, or quinoa. Also, I strongly recommend using the raisins and almonds. They really put this dish over the top. I even added chicken and made it into a meal in itself. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Delicious! I omitted the raisins and added apple instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States