Indian Curried Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
My boyfriend and I both loved this. However, I followed others' advice and double all of the spices. I didn't have any raisins and forgot to top it with the almonds and it was still delicious. I think it would be really bland without doubling the spices, but totally worth it if you do. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
this was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
5 stars for the ease and simplicity and HEALTHFULNESS! I used quick cooking barley and it turned out great, if a bit soft, and added some finely chopped carrots and grilled chicken. I agree fully with increasing the spices, but this is great food that comes together with minimal effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Good alternative to rice! I added fresh hot pepper for some heat as well as coconut milk. I also doubled the curry as suggested. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by squarepear
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I was so excited to try this because I LOVE barley, and it did not disappoint. I changed the raisins and almonds to peas and carrots because I had just had a bad experience with both (kidney stone anyone???) and we need our veggies! I added 1/2 cup more chicken broth to help cook the carrots and added more curry per other reviews. Also used oil instead of butter. Fantastic taste - I really like the subtle allspice flavor. Ate this with some tilapia - DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squarepear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ingalls, Indiana, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I omitted the butter, salt and almonds. I subbed homemade vegetable broth for the chicken broth. It smelled so good while cooking! This is a delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Made this with non-fat/low sodium broth, doubled the curry powder, used a smidge over the 1/2 tsp. salt (kosher) and ground pepper. It was absolutely delish and so easy to prepare! WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohiosoup
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
It was good, however, my husband didn't like the raisins, and my children 5 and 4 didn't care for it. I thought the flavor was good, but apparently just not the right recipe for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was incredibly easy and tasty. My 8, 5 and 1 year olds loved it, in spite of their supposed dislike of onions! We left the slivered almonds and raisins as sides so the kids could choose whether or not to top their barley with either of those. Everyone was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This was a very flavorful, change from your typical rice dish. I pretty much stuck to the recipe and I enjoyed the outcome. I didn't have almonds or raisin, so I left those out, but I imagine it'd be as yummy with them as it was without. I also added several splashes of hot sauce (since I love spicy) and it added a lot to the dish. For the person who thought it was bland, I'd recommend adding some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States