Indian Curried Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This recipe is simmering now! It smells fantastic. I used extra curry powder and turmeric. I also sauteed some tilapia with the onions and barley, just to add some flakey protein to make it a main dish. I didn't have any butter, so I used olive oil. Also didn't have ground allspice, just whole, so I had a fun time trying to chop it up with my dull knife! Can't wait until it's done, my mouth is watering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
you definitely need to at least double the spices. great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I absolutley loved this dish The spices are mixed perfectly and it all just hit the spot! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I wish I had read some reviews before making it but I was in a rush and wanted something new. Instinct told me that the amount of curry wasn't going to be enough so I doubled it. I still thought it was on the bland side. I plan to add garlic and increase the turmeric and pepper and will probably quadruple the curry powder. I liked the texture and it is a good way to add a healthful grain to the diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Made this for the first time this evening for dinner and it was a huge hit! In fact, this was the first time I ever cooked barley in my entire life, but now, thanks to this recipe, I'll definitely be making it again. I followed the recipe exactly as wroitten except I didn't add the raisins or the nuts. Thanks for posting this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Tasty. Probably didn't need to use all that butter but did anyway. Had to add about 1/2 tsp. more of the curry and turmeric to "up" the flavor. Used a scant half tsp. of salt. Also needed to simmer a tad big longer which required about 1/3 cup more broth. Overall was very tasty after making some minor alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Great side dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I like the flavor of this, and it is a nice change from the usual fast carbs. I did have to change it for my food plan. I used 1t smart balance and cooking spray instead of 1/4c butter. Cut the almonds amount in half. Also did not have curry powder so I substituted a mix of coriander, cumin and Chinese 5 spice. The combo actually worked quite well. The flavor is probably is much richer with butter, but since I'll never know for sure I will continue to enjoy as I made it. Thanks for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Excellent Vegetarian dish! If you don't have allspice substitute equal parts nutmeg, cinnamon and ground clove. I doubled the spices and used 1-1/4 teapoons of curry. Great dish for additions - I added peas and will try w/ carrots also next time. I only used 2T of butter to reduce fat and it was perfect. Toasted pine nuts would probably be a nice substitution for the almonds - but they can be pricey. If you add veggies - up the chicken broth by a 1/2 C - I used a 32 oz container of chicken stock and it was perfect. Definitely a keeper and will be making again (and again!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
What is old is new again! I just got a pressure cooker--now completely safe with 3 safeguards--they don't blow up, no matter how hard you try! The cooking time is at least halved for most things. Some recipe cook times are cut by ten! This particular recipe can be done in 18 minutes! I am no longer spending my Sundays cooking. Bean soups, risottos, pilafs and even meatloaf with potatoes all in 10-20 minutes. Consider the fuel and electicity you'll save. Huge. No longer do I consider that I don't have time to cook barley, for example. It has revolutionized my cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States