Indian Curried Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is a 4 as written a 5 with the changes. The changes include doubling the spices. to 1 tsp curry, 1 tsp tumeric and 1/2 tsp allspice. I also added 1/2 tsp ginger. I used bullion cubes instead of canned broth and it was plenty salty so I omitted the extra salt. I'd probably omit the pepper next time too. This was rockin'! I cleaned the plate as well as spooned the leftovers into my mouth as I washes the dishes.. Yummy. It could use slightly less butter, but only if you have a lean main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I was looking for something my roommate could eat easily during Lent (he's Orthodox, so he has to go vegan, no olive oil, nothing like that during Lent) and I found this. Figured I might as well try it. I was wary, mostly because my roommate and his fiancee (who's my other roommate) both HATE most Indian foods, but I figured, hey, might as well try it. Add in the fact that the two of them are really picky and I was worried. I used fake-Butter instead of Butter, low sodium veggie broth instead of chicken brother, added carrots and peas, and doubled the various spices per someone else's review, and it was AMAZING. Everyone loved it. I think when I remake this during lent, I might even fry up some seitan or tofu to toss in it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Filling and tasty and not hard to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This recipe is simmering now! It smells fantastic. I used extra curry powder and turmeric. I also sauteed some tilapia with the onions and barley, just to add some flakey protein to make it a main dish. I didn't have any butter, so I used olive oil. Also didn't have ground allspice, just whole, so I had a fun time trying to chop it up with my dull knife! Can't wait until it's done, my mouth is watering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
you definitely need to at least double the spices. great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I absolutley loved this dish The spices are mixed perfectly and it all just hit the spot! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I wish I had read some reviews before making it but I was in a rush and wanted something new. Instinct told me that the amount of curry wasn't going to be enough so I doubled it. I still thought it was on the bland side. I plan to add garlic and increase the turmeric and pepper and will probably quadruple the curry powder. I liked the texture and it is a good way to add a healthful grain to the diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Made this for the first time this evening for dinner and it was a huge hit! In fact, this was the first time I ever cooked barley in my entire life, but now, thanks to this recipe, I'll definitely be making it again. I followed the recipe exactly as wroitten except I didn't add the raisins or the nuts. Thanks for posting this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Tasty. Probably didn't need to use all that butter but did anyway. Had to add about 1/2 tsp. more of the curry and turmeric to "up" the flavor. Used a scant half tsp. of salt. Also needed to simmer a tad big longer which required about 1/3 cup more broth. Overall was very tasty after making some minor alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Great side dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States