Indian Curried Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Tastes great! I made it exactly as written, then added more of the spices until I liked it, which means a bit more salt, and a full extra tsp of curry. Fantastic savory side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glowiie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
We absolutely loved this recipe! We did make a few changes based on previous reviews because we love spice. Instead of 1/4 teaspoon of curry we added five 1/8 teaspoons of curry spices using Penzey's hot curry, sweet curry, Vindaloo, Garam Masala and Tandoory spice and doubled both the allspice and turmeric. It was a great accompaniment to a roast chicken on a cold, blustery Saturday night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Steele Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I've done this with lentils when I didn't have barley. Excellent. I also doubled the curry and garlic as we like it a bit spicier! But great basic recipe to jump off from. Any beans or coarse grains work, even a combo. I use the pressure cooker. I bet a slow cooker would work as well! THank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I doubled the spices as somebody suggested and also doubled the butter. This came out so good! So I give it four stars for a good stars; Update the recipe with the above improvements and it's certainly a five-star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Woolfe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I followed the other reviewers advice and doubled the spices, used olive oil instead of butter and added peas and carrots. It was delicious. My husband raved about it and I've added it to our dinner rotation. Wonderful served with Indian Butter Chicken recipe on Allrecipes. Only giving it a 4 due to changes that had to be made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
In addition to doubling the spices as most have recommended, I changed the ratio of barley to water (because I used a pressure cooker). Instead, I used 1 cup barley to 4 1/2 cups water and cooked it on high for 18 minutes. When I made the recipe on the stove with the 1 1/2 cup barley to 3 1/2 cups water, I found that I had to keep adding boiling liquid - it took close to an hour with the recipe the way it is written. The ratio pearled barley to water is not right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Loved this--a great way to get in some extra fiber. The recipe has a lot of flavor. Only thing I would change would be to add some extra raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Pretty tasty. But, I did have to triple the curry. 1/4 teaspoon is not nearly enough. The raisins are a MUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I am glad I read the reviews. I also doubled the spices, used carrots and corn with a few raisins. I had about a half cup of cooked Italian ground sausage, so I tossed that in. It really added alot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMR12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States