Indian Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
My fiance is from India and we make a similar recipe on a regular basis. You don't need to add cornstarch to thicken the sauce. After the chick peas are softened, use a potato masher and mash them a little bit. Don't mash them all, just mash them so some get smushed. This will thicken the sauce naturally. Just let it simmer for a few minutes and it will thicken right up. I also add 1 tsp. garam masala, 1 tsp. turmeric, 1 tsp. of cumin, 2tsp. salt, and a little bit of cayenne pepper (around a 1/4 tsp). You can also use 1 tsp. of coriander if you like. Garnish with fresh cilantro when serving. We always use red onions and the tomatoes should be diced, not quartered like in the picture with the recipe. I love this recipe. It is really healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
255 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
My husband and I loved this!! We can't get enough of it! I was really excited to find an accessible indian recipe. I didn't have channa masala so I only used garam. Also, I used helpful suggestions from gnip. I mashed some of the chickpeas to thicken the curry and I added 1 tsp. turmeric, 1 tsp. of cumin,1 tsp. of coriander and a little bit of cayenne pepper (around a 1/4 tsp). I used red onions and then seeded and diced the tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This is very easy and tasty. I used 1 tsp. of garam masala because I couldn't find the other spice listed. Enjoyed it with naan with mango chuntey and almonds, indian-style cauliflower, indian-style eggplant, and indian-style okra (all from this site.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is a very good "channa masala". I cook the dish a lot longer (until the liquid reduces almost completely and the chick peas are very soft). This just takes more like my favorite Indian restaurants do it. I love Indian food and I am always trying to cook it at home. This is the first success I have had. Some day I will have to get lessons from someone who grew up cooking Indian. Until then, I will have this recipe as one of my staples. Thanks for the delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Loved it! I always make a few changes to recipes: increased the amount of masalas a bit to my taste, used red onion, 2 roma tomatoes (squeezed of seeds). I added a dash of half n half at the end, after the simmer. Will accompany my curry dishes from now on! Very healthy side option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This was fantastic and VERY easy. I skipped the channa masala in favor of what I had on hand; used mustard seeds, tumeric and corriander. It is a tasty curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was pretty good. I would recommend adding more garam masala though to give a more indian taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Flavour was better for leftovers as it had time to soak into the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Nice favor without being over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
great recipe, i added a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce. i will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States