Indian Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Good, and different (to me). This was my first attempt at middle eastern cuisine. I bought a bag of chickpeas and started searching for a recipe I could make with what I had in my cabinet. I made the following changes due to necessity: I cooked the garbanzos instead of using canned, which took 3 hours. I used curry powder, cumin, and turmeric in place of the garam masala, which I'm sure had a dramatic effect on the flavor. I also added red pepper and two chili peppers as I had seen in another recipe. The final product was really good, though the cumin was a little overpowering. If you have to substitute spices like I did go easy on the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
very, very good. easy to make with ingredients i have on hand. thanks for the post Mondeep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
A Nice and healthy dish, very easy to make . Did it with only the haram masala since did not have the other. Wll definitely make it again, and serve with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made this alongside of curried chicken last night. I have to admit I followed the advice of others and added some additional spices (coriander, cayenne). I also accidently increased the onion to a whole cup. I absolutely loved this dish and the leftovers were even better. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
i loved this, my husband less so, but his only criticism was that it had too many chickpeas in it...so take from that what you will! the flavour was lovely, and mashing up a few of the chickpeas thickened the sauce beautifully. I served this as an accompaniment to Saag Paneer (Spinach and Cheese Curd) with homemade naan bread---it was terrific! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is one of the best Indian dishes I've tasted! I did not have channa masala so used other reviewers suggestions of 1 tsp. garam masala, 1 tsp. turmeric, 1 tsp. of cumin, 2tsp. salt, 1 tsp. coriander and 1/4 tsp. cayenne. I also mashed some of the peas to thicken but it took twice the recommended cooking time to boil down. Next time I'll use 1c water instead of 1-1/2. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is very tasty and healthy. I only give it four stars as is, but five if you make the changes suggested by ginniej - It tastes better and no need to go to a specialty store for a spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Very good, I have been making this a long time, minus the ginger. I add a sliced sweet red bell pepper to the onions and put only about 1/2 cup water (cuz I like it a little drier, it is so good with grilled fish!). It is not mandatory to use those spices either, you can use about 1/2 teaspoon each of cumin and a little curry powder and a dash of cinnamon. People are more likely to have those spices at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Excellent. Replaced about 1 cup of coconut milk for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States