Indian Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
LOVE this! I used this recipe as a base and then altered it with additions from Cholay and Chickpea Curry on this site, mostly for more spices. This is so good, I could eat it every week. The leftovers became even more delicious too! Yay for leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made this as written for the first time, and I found I had to add more spices once I sat down to eat it. Other than that, it was quick, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I didn't have channa masala or tomatoes, so I added other spices (cumin, cayenne, and TONS of cilantro) and I wasn't happy with the flavor after the 20 minutes of simmering so I let it go for another 20 minutes. Also I mashed them I little to thicken it. Served it topped with cilantro and homemade naan. I know I changed it, but I was going for the flavor that I like from the local Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
pretty great. I added some cornstarch to thicken it. Serve on brown rice and then spoon some yogurt over top ( i dilute low-fat plain yogurt and add dried mint).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This was very yummy! Everyone loved it. I followed some of the suggestions of other reviewers, mainly " I mashed some of the chickpeas to thicken the curry and I added 1 tsp. turmeric, 1 tsp. of cumin,1 tsp. of coriander and a little bit of cayenne pepper (around a 1/4 tsp). I used red onions and then seeded and diced the tomatoes". I must say that it was close but not as good as restaurant quality or authentic Indian chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I have made this twice now, and love this recipe. I add 1 tsp of ground cumin, 1 tsp ground coriander and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper. We love garlic in my house so I also add 2 additional cloves of garlic. This is good over basmati rice, or even with saltine crackers! One additional thing- after cooking, I like to let this sit in the fridge overnight to let the flavor really set in. But it tastes great when eaten right away too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I made my chickpeas from dry chickpeas, and I used 1 Tbs. of oil, but otherwise I made the recipe as written - it was absolutely delicious! It had great flavor! I put this in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
five stars for the ease and delicious taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Good, and different (to me). This was my first attempt at middle eastern cuisine. I bought a bag of chickpeas and started searching for a recipe I could make with what I had in my cabinet. I made the following changes due to necessity: I cooked the garbanzos instead of using canned, which took 3 hours. I used curry powder, cumin, and turmeric in place of the garam masala, which I'm sure had a dramatic effect on the flavor. I also added red pepper and two chili peppers as I had seen in another recipe. The final product was really good, though the cumin was a little overpowering. If you have to substitute spices like I did go easy on the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
very, very good. easy to make with ingredients i have on hand. thanks for the post Mondeep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States