Indian Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
LOVE this! I used this recipe as a base and then altered it with additions from Cholay and Chickpea Curry on this site, mostly for more spices. This is so good, I could eat it every week. The leftovers became even more delicious too! Yay for leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made this as written for the first time, and I found I had to add more spices once I sat down to eat it. Other than that, it was quick, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I didn't have channa masala or tomatoes, so I added other spices (cumin, cayenne, and TONS of cilantro) and I wasn't happy with the flavor after the 20 minutes of simmering so I let it go for another 20 minutes. Also I mashed them I little to thicken it. Served it topped with cilantro and homemade naan. I know I changed it, but I was going for the flavor that I like from the local Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
pretty great. I added some cornstarch to thicken it. Serve on brown rice and then spoon some yogurt over top ( i dilute low-fat plain yogurt and add dried mint).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This was very yummy! Everyone loved it. I followed some of the suggestions of other reviewers, mainly " I mashed some of the chickpeas to thicken the curry and I added 1 tsp. turmeric, 1 tsp. of cumin,1 tsp. of coriander and a little bit of cayenne pepper (around a 1/4 tsp). I used red onions and then seeded and diced the tomatoes". I must say that it was close but not as good as restaurant quality or authentic Indian chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I have made this twice now, and love this recipe. I add 1 tsp of ground cumin, 1 tsp ground coriander and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper. We love garlic in my house so I also add 2 additional cloves of garlic. This is good over basmati rice, or even with saltine crackers! One additional thing- after cooking, I like to let this sit in the fridge overnight to let the flavor really set in. But it tastes great when eaten right away too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I made my chickpeas from dry chickpeas, and I used 1 Tbs. of oil, but otherwise I made the recipe as written - it was absolutely delicious! It had great flavor! I put this in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
five stars for the ease and delicious taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Good, and different (to me). This was my first attempt at middle eastern cuisine. I bought a bag of chickpeas and started searching for a recipe I could make with what I had in my cabinet. I made the following changes due to necessity: I cooked the garbanzos instead of using canned, which took 3 hours. I used curry powder, cumin, and turmeric in place of the garam masala, which I'm sure had a dramatic effect on the flavor. I also added red pepper and two chili peppers as I had seen in another recipe. The final product was really good, though the cumin was a little overpowering. If you have to substitute spices like I did go easy on the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
very, very good. easy to make with ingredients i have on hand. thanks for the post Mondeep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States