Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Fantastic! This dish has become a family favorite! I only made a few minor changes. I cut the chicken into one inch pieces, cut back on the amount of oil, and decreased the amount of salt to 2 teaspoons. I've made it with and without the lemon juice, and it is delicious either way. I serve it over jasmine rice with warm naan bread. Soooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. Im not a user of curry because a lot of curry dishes I have eaten have been too spicy. I don't know if it was the yogurt or what it was but it was a creamy type of spicey. My family really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
SO DELICIOUS! The only change I made was that I substituted coconut oil for the cooking oil. This curry is as good or better than the Indian place I usually go to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
OH yeah...this is definitely going into my curry recipe list. :) Changes I made: Omitted turmeric and cilantro (I was out of both), used coconut oil, Penzey's hot curry powder, canned tomato sauce instead of crushed tomatoes, coconut milk instead of yogurt, and bone-in chicken thighs and drumsticks, which necessitated a longer cooking time (about 50 minutes). Added some chopped broccoli about 30 minutes in as well. Even with the changes, this came out pretty amazing, with authentic flavor plus a nice spicy kick. I'm very much looking forward to trying this again with all the correct ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Made this as the recipe is written (we didn't have garam masala, so we used the substitute mentioned in another comment). It tasted exactly like a good Indian restaurant curry does and was very tasty. Definitely a spicy curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kourtaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Whoa! I can't believe that I made this in my kitchen! Great flavor, just enough heat w/o taking over the other spices. Only complaint is it has a bitter after taste that I wish I could eliminate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Very happy with how this turned out! Followed instructions to a "T" except that I substituted yogurt for canned coconut milk and threw in 4 sliced thai chilis. Yum! Had it with some Basmati rice and it was a fab meal. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This dish is really good but i used more water and added cornstarch in the end to thicken the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
We used thigh meat instead of chicken breasts and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This recipe was delicious! my boyfriend and I are not usually curry fans but we will definitely be making this again! i followed the recipe almost exactly except i have never been able to find masala in the grocery store so i left that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States