Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Very tasty!! I cut up the chicken into bite sized pieces and sautéed them in coconut oil and they ended up tender and juicy. I used plain Greek yogurt. I added more curry later than when it called, I'm not sure but because of this it made the curry a little powdery. Only down side. I also added Sriracha (who doesn't put Sriracha on everything). I forgot the lemon juice but I added a cilantro mango salsa (fresh mango, fresh cilantro, a little cinnamon, fresh ginger, and a few other spices) and it was perfect! Every bite was different! Served it over rice and sautéed kale. Very yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This was Uber tasty! I skipped the cilantro and lemon juice out of laziness and it was still fantastic. It had a nice warmth to it as you eat it, but could use more spice if that's what you want. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Made this last night--yes, following recipe--in a cast-iron fry pan and it was quite good. Quibble: I LOVE acidic things, but lemon juice seemed to take things too far. (Did I reduce my sauce too much?) TASTE before adding lemon juice! If you have probe thermometer, check temp 10-15 mins from when you put chicken back in. I cooked mine for 25 with front gas burner on lowest setting and my chicken got to 205 F which made is a bit "tough" (for chicken). Overall, quite easy for an Indian curry and I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Really good -- I think "cooking the spices" might have made it a bit tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanora Rosenberry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I have made this recipe for my boyfriend and I several times, and every time he dies over it! I crave this all the time. We like a LOT of spice so I usually add a teaspoon of crushed red pepper and I double up on the cayenne pepper. I serve it with basmati rice and garlic tandoori naan. The leftovers taste amazing too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Wallette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Menace
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This is the first time I have ever made a curry and the comments I received were very positive. I took it in to work for one of my Indian colleagues, who was very surprised at how authentic it tasted, commenting that it was better than some of her relatives curries! I halved the amount of the cayenne pepper and it was perfect. I think a whole teaspoon would have been too spicy. I suppose it is personal preference at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
It is absolutely delicious. As one of the reviewers suggested, I added the extra Thai chili pepper ( about 6) and increased the cayenne pepper to 3 tsp for it to be extra spicy. The sauce is heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
As is this recipes is ok but with a little tweaking this recipe has become my baby. Use about 7 chicken breast and instead of leaving the chicken breast whole, cut them into 1 inch cubed pieces and only use 1 teaspoon to season the chicken. Puree the ginger, onion and garlic (you can use 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder if you don't have it fresh) so that you can make a sauce. If you don't like the recipe too spicy cut down the cayenne to 1/2 teaspoon and instead of using canned crushed tomatoes, use 1 can 8oz of tomato sauce and 3-4 tomatoes and chop them into 1 inch pieces. Substitute the yogurt for sour cream and serve with white rice. I assure you this will become a staple at your home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puertorican Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Excellent flavors. Only thing different I added the Hot Curry Powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States