Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is so good! I hate when people change the recipe and then write a review...but that's exactly what I ended up doing. :( I used coconut milk in place of water, I didn't use garam masala because I didn't have it, and I added a tablespoon of honey to balance the acidity of the tomatoes. I tasted as I went, and this was awesome even without the honey, but a little bitter. Once I added the honey, it was perfection. Also, I cooked the spices in the oil to help bloom the flavors. But honestly, this recipe is awesome and very versatile. The amount of spice was just right. This is a keeper folks! Even my picky teenager loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate Berenberg
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I improv-ed a lot on this one... No Garam masala , coriander, cilantro or lemon juice.i used chipotle pepper, curry in both spice mic and extra Greek yogurt, lime, clove and tom-ka seasoning with all above ingredients. I used a Dutch oven with bone in chicken breasts. I browned the meat as directed (just longer to get the skin nice and crispy and meat to cook accordingly), then followed the directions until the end where I placed the Dutch with everything yummy in it, in the oven for about a half hr on 285 degrees. Let the juices sit and cool for a bit and the end result was AMAZING!!! I say play around if you don't have all the ingredients ...the recipe is a Great place to start...so much that the finish can't really ever be bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Berenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I prepared the recipe last night, and have to mention that it was exquisite. It has the exact flavors as you would expect from an Hindi restaurant. The only comment would be to reduce a little bit the amount of oil and water, as it prevents the sauce from thickening enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaudi

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John Bensko
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I made this past Sunday and have made it three times since! Two were for friends that tasted the first batch. I have made it exactly as stated, and also using olive oil. All tasted great. I gave this to some Filapino friends, and the mother loves it so much, she asked me for the recipe so she can serve at next potluck they have. This will be made monthly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Bensko
Home Town: Williamsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This is the curry recipe that I've been looking for. I didn't add the half cup of water at the end because I like a thicker sauce, but this is really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Geahlen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Absolutely delicious! We wanted something new and different and this was it. I only made one adjustment and that was to cut the oil in 1/2 to brown the chicken. It is spicy so if you don't like your nose to run you might cut a little of the cayenne but we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Bland, bland and bland. It wasn't creamy, it wasn't sweet, it wasn't oily. In my experience eating at many authentic Indian restaurants (I live in Toronto) and tasting dishes prepared by Indian friends, this was flavourless with the exception of a strong paprika taste. I don't understand why this has such high reviews. It's missing something, or a couple things. Possibly milk or cream, coconut milk, sugar or something else. But I was so bored by this recipe that I'm not going to try to improve it. It was also messy. The half cup of oil on med-high heat splattered everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I used this recipe as a basis for my own dish, and it turned out very good. I used chicken thighs and sour cream instead of breasts and yogurt. I added some dry mustard instead of corriander and garum marsala. In other words, this recipe is very adaptable. It is spicy, but not overwhelming. The sauce goes excellently over rice and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
My family loves this recipe, I make this twice a month and it really is better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States