Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Okay. Liked the sound of the ingredients, so decided to give it a go. Cut the chicken into one-inch pieces. Used much less oil, maybe 1 tb., and added garlic after the onions, so as not to burn. We like sauce, so used a bit more of the spices called for, big can of diced tomatoes instead of crushed, and some tomato paste to make it less watery. Also added cauliflower flowerettes. Lovely. Sorry to not adhere to recipe posted, but I kinda do my own thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Seriously loving this authentic Indian dish. Fairly easy to make and packs a flavorful punch! After reading the comments I cut the chicken in bite sized pieces, used half the cayenne, substituted 1/2c yogurt and 1c cocunut milk for the original 1c of yogurt, and added green peppers as well as cubed potatoes. However, even without the amendments this recipe is a winner. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
As per the suggestion of another reviewer, I added chiles and (because I did not have it) omitted the cilantro. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as is. Both my husband and I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
Very tasty!! I cut up the chicken into bite sized pieces and sautéed them in coconut oil and they ended up tender and juicy. I used plain Greek yogurt. I added more curry later than when it called, I'm not sure but because of this it made the curry a little powdery. Only down side. I also added Sriracha (who doesn't put Sriracha on everything). I forgot the lemon juice but I added a cilantro mango salsa (fresh mango, fresh cilantro, a little cinnamon, fresh ginger, and a few other spices) and it was perfect! Every bite was different! Served it over rice and sautéed kale. Very yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This was Uber tasty! I skipped the cilantro and lemon juice out of laziness and it was still fantastic. It had a nice warmth to it as you eat it, but could use more spice if that's what you want. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Made this last night--yes, following recipe--in a cast-iron fry pan and it was quite good. Quibble: I LOVE acidic things, but lemon juice seemed to take things too far. (Did I reduce my sauce too much?) TASTE before adding lemon juice! If you have probe thermometer, check temp 10-15 mins from when you put chicken back in. I cooked mine for 25 with front gas burner on lowest setting and my chicken got to 205 F which made is a bit "tough" (for chicken). Overall, quite easy for an Indian curry and I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Really good -- I think "cooking the spices" might have made it a bit tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanora Rosenberry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I have made this recipe for my boyfriend and I several times, and every time he dies over it! I crave this all the time. We like a LOT of spice so I usually add a teaspoon of crushed red pepper and I double up on the cayenne pepper. I serve it with basmati rice and garlic tandoori naan. The leftovers taste amazing too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Wallette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Menace
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This is the first time I have ever made a curry and the comments I received were very positive. I took it in to work for one of my Indian colleagues, who was very surprised at how authentic it tasted, commenting that it was better than some of her relatives curries! I halved the amount of the cayenne pepper and it was perfect. I think a whole teaspoon would have been too spicy. I suppose it is personal preference at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
It is absolutely delicious. As one of the reviewers suggested, I added the extra Thai chili pepper ( about 6) and increased the cayenne pepper to 3 tsp for it to be extra spicy. The sauce is heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States