Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I have made this recipe for my boyfriend and I several times, and every time he dies over it! I crave this all the time. We like a LOT of spice so I usually add a teaspoon of crushed red pepper and I double up on the cayenne pepper. I serve it with basmati rice and garlic tandoori naan. The leftovers taste amazing too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Wallette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Menace
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This is the first time I have ever made a curry and the comments I received were very positive. I took it in to work for one of my Indian colleagues, who was very surprised at how authentic it tasted, commenting that it was better than some of her relatives curries! I halved the amount of the cayenne pepper and it was perfect. I think a whole teaspoon would have been too spicy. I suppose it is personal preference at the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
It is absolutely delicious. As one of the reviewers suggested, I added the extra Thai chili pepper ( about 6) and increased the cayenne pepper to 3 tsp for it to be extra spicy. The sauce is heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
As is this recipes is ok but with a little tweaking this recipe has become my baby. Use about 7 chicken breast and instead of leaving the chicken breast whole, cut them into 1 inch cubed pieces and only use 1 teaspoon to season the chicken. Puree the ginger, onion and garlic (you can use 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder if you don't have it fresh) so that you can make a sauce. If you don't like the recipe too spicy cut down the cayenne to 1/2 teaspoon and instead of using canned crushed tomatoes, use 1 can 8oz of tomato sauce and 3-4 tomatoes and chop them into 1 inch pieces. Substitute the yogurt for sour cream and serve with white rice. I assure you this will become a staple at your home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puertorican Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Excellent flavors. Only thing different I added the Hot Curry Powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MVA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Heavy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
My hubby and I loved this but my son who's 33 thought it was too spicy! Maybe he'll move out! Lol. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I'm not quite sure what i think about this...on one hand the flavors were on point but the texture was just off. i feel that if you swap out the yogurt for coconut milk or at least do half yogurt and half coconut milk it would change the recipe for the better. i added lime juice, bok choy, wine, sesame oil, and dried parsley to my dish (improves the overall flavor by a long shot :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Amazing, authentic flavor and very easy to make. I made no changes whatsoever. Its quite hot, to say the least, but absolutely delicious. I travel to India quite a bit and the fragrances generated by this dish bring wonderful memories every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runner736
Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Great, but a little spicy for the kids. 5 stars with these adjustments: Did 1 tsp of ground ginger instead of fresh (don't have fresh readily available). Did 1/2 tsp of cayenne instead of 1 tsp (to decrease the spiciness). Did 15 oz of tomato sauce instead of crushed tomatoes (it was what I had avalable, and I think it helped the dish have a smoother texture).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States