Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2015
Awesome recipe. I created it using 1 pound of turkey breast and mixed vegetables instead of the 2 lbs of chicken and grape seed oil to fry the turkey in. It came out as good as an Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
This stuff is awesome! The best Indian food I have ever made. I used canned tomato sauce instead of tomatoes for a smoother texture. The yogurt, tomato sauce, and spices make a wonderfully delicious orange sauce, which is perfectly spiced - not too spicy, but very savory. This also warms up well for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
I have made this recipe many times now and love it. Usually don't change much except I always use thighs (just a rule I have as they've managed to breed any and all flavor out of the breast) and, this time I have some chicken stock I want to use up so will throw that in instead of the water. Other than that, I follow it as written. Wonderful. It is in my list of stock Indian recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
So ON POINT! Will be making this again and again. I added about 10 red chili peppers (chopped) in with the onions and sautéed those alone. Mashed up ginger and fresh turmeric with the spices in a mortar and added that after the onion/peppers were ready. Other than that made the rest per the recipe. However, I should've doubled the recipe because we tore that UP and now it's all gone. I'm tempted to make some more tomorrow because I only had one plate- family devoured it. Served with jasmine rice and sautéed spinach. Perfect. May use shrimp next time. May add fresh thyme. May toss in some coconut milk. But this base recipe will remain my go to from here on out ???? THANK YOU for sharing this deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kurlyy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I've made this several times and love it every time. I usually cube the chicken, but otherwise stay true to the recipe. Everyone I've ever served it to has loved it and requested that I make it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Yum!!! I made this as written. I might reduce the oil for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
We had indian food for the first time on vacation at an all inclusive resort, we were blown away by how good it was and as soon as we got back searched for a recipe for what we had. This was it and it was just as good as the restauarant we ate at. We didn't have garam masala but used extra curry instead after a short google search. I like things a little hotter so I added 1/2 tbsp crushed red pepper and it was the perfect amount for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel Curcio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
This is absolutely one of my all time favorites from Allrecipes.com The only thing I do differently is that I cut the chicken into strips instead of leaving them whole, other than that I follow the recipe as is. I love Indian food, and this is just so good! Always a hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Hope Valley, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
I made this for my husband and son and they loved it. The only change I made was to add 2 red chillies to it. The heat was perfect for us. Lots of sauce left over for another night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
ehh, i added flour to the yogurt as suggested by another reviewer....still curdled. flavors were good but consistency ugly and bad. will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States