Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Yum! This dish was easy and so full of flavor! The only thing I changed was using 2tb butter in place of the 1/4c of oil. That reduced some of the calories and added a little extra flavor. My yogurt curdled slightly even though I warmed it up with some of the sauce before adding it. I noticed that I accidentally bought low-fat instead of full-fat so I think that contributed to the curdling. Also, I saw online that you can add corn starch to yogurt to stabilize it before adding it to hot sauces- I will try that next time. But this dish tasted amazing despite the slight curdle and it was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Very nice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is by far the best chicken curry recipe, easy to make and delicious. I have made it over a dozen times lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Very easy and very yummy. I ommited the chicken this time (will try with next time) and added green bell peppers... fabulous! Will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durango, Colorado, USA
Living In: Deer Trail, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is so good! I hate when people change the recipe and then write a review...but that's exactly what I ended up doing. :( I used coconut milk in place of water, I didn't use garam masala because I didn't have it, and I added a tablespoon of honey to balance the acidity of the tomatoes. I tasted as I went, and this was awesome even without the honey, but a little bitter. Once I added the honey, it was perfection. Also, I cooked the spices in the oil to help bloom the flavors. But honestly, this recipe is awesome and very versatile. The amount of spice was just right. This is a keeper folks! Even my picky teenager loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate Berenberg
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I improv-ed a lot on this one... No Garam masala , coriander, cilantro or lemon juice.i used chipotle pepper, curry in both spice mic and extra Greek yogurt, lime, clove and tom-ka seasoning with all above ingredients. I used a Dutch oven with bone in chicken breasts. I browned the meat as directed (just longer to get the skin nice and crispy and meat to cook accordingly), then followed the directions until the end where I placed the Dutch with everything yummy in it, in the oven for about a half hr on 285 degrees. Let the juices sit and cool for a bit and the end result was AMAZING!!! I say play around if you don't have all the ingredients ...the recipe is a Great place to start...so much that the finish can't really ever be bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Berenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I prepared the recipe last night, and have to mention that it was exquisite. It has the exact flavors as you would expect from an Hindi restaurant. The only comment would be to reduce a little bit the amount of oil and water, as it prevents the sauce from thickening enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaudi

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John Bensko
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I made this past Sunday and have made it three times since! Two were for friends that tasted the first batch. I have made it exactly as stated, and also using olive oil. All tasted great. I gave this to some Filapino friends, and the mother loves it so much, she asked me for the recipe so she can serve at next potluck they have. This will be made monthly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Bensko
Home Town: Williamsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This is the curry recipe that I've been looking for. I didn't add the half cup of water at the end because I like a thicker sauce, but this is really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Geahlen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States