Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Oh my goodness.. I made a couple changes due to missing ingredients, but turned out awesome! I'm a cultural food guru, have traveled all over the world - I know good food and this recipe was great. Here is what I did: I used a half chicken in one piece and fried it on both sides almost all the way through. I followed the recipe for the most part, but substituted yogurt with unsweetened coconut milk. I also changed all the water ingredients to chicken broth, the cayenne pepper for whole dried chipotle chiles which I finely chopped, and I had to make my own garam masala with 1/4 tsp each of cloves, cinnamon, black pepper, cumin, nutmeg, and turmeric. I then simmered abt 40 mins until the chicken almost fell off the bone, and served it over rice mixed with green onions and pine nuts. What a treat, so gooooood. This is a new fave:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isaac Grove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was a good recipe!! I just added more curry to give it more of an Indian flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I used Greek yogurt. I could not find garam masala at an supermakets in my city so I used a substitute garam masala spice mix which I actually found on this site. My wife is sensitive to spicy hot food so I only put half of the amount of cayanne. There wasn't much of a selection of crushed tomatoes, so I bought a can of whole tomatoes and crushed them myself. This was served over organic jasmine rice. It was so......frickin.....good! Better than the they sell in the jars, that's for sure. I'm really glad I wrote this one down and saved it in our recipe box, because I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I have made numerous dishes from recipes I found online, and have never been as pleased with the results as this one! In fact, I've never reviewed a recipe, but felt this was so tasty, it deserves one! The quality was similar to that in an Indian restaurant! Since EVERYONE in my family loved this dish, I will be sure to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LauraGail
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I've been on a mission trying to find a perfect chicken curry recipe and this got very close to what I was looking for. Although slightly different in taste from what I'm used to, it tasted great all the same. I've been finding so many blah curry chicken recipes and the spice in this one was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
We truly loved this recipe. It was a little spicy so put some sour cream in it but other than that it was amazing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aakemon
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was a giant hit with my family. I'm new to making Indian food and this was a great starter recipe - not too difficult but packed with flavor. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs instead of breasts as that's what I had on hand, and I'll probably use thighs in the future with this recipe. Thanks for posting. It's going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Excellent recipe! Made this last night and it was so flavorful and delicious. I ran out of tumeric but it didn't seem to affect the overall dish. Also didn't have garam marsala so I used the easy garam marsala recipe. Also, I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. I just pulsed about 4 large tomatoes in my food processor to crush it up and stewed it with the spice and onion mixture for 20 minutes before adding in everything else. I added the yogurt to taste and included a dash of coconut milk as others suggested. Added some green beans, but I bet peas would be good too. Wonderful recipe - this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I loved this recipe. Very flavorful and easy to make. I've made it a couple of times and have changed it a bit to make it more of a one-pot casserole. I cook it in a dutch oven and cut up the chicken instead of leaving the breast whole. I add one large diced potato and about three or four diced carrots at the same time as I return the chicken to the pot (and use 1 cup of water at this point instead of 1/2 cup). Then at the end I add about four cups of cooked brown rice (you could probably cook the rice in the dish itself but I'm not a great cook and end up burning it on the bottom of my pot). It's a very hearty meal that lasts me most of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherri
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
My son made this for his girlfriend since she was craving curry ....what a great recipe. I was lucky enough to be invited for dinner.My son added mushrooms, peas and carrots..it was a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States