Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Czech-chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Photo by Soniya
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I made this last night and my husband "LOVED" it. This will be made again and again in my house. The only adjustment I made to this recipe is I cut the salt and pepper in half and only put a quarter cup of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Great recipe~! I used whole chicken thighs instead of beast tenders and it turned out great~! My daughter came up with the "non naan"bread by deep frying tortillas that we had...yummie~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I chose this recipe based on the spices because I'm not experienced at Indian cuisine. I wanted to use up leftover turkey, so I made a number of modifications based on what I had on hand. I'll definitely use this recipe again - and as my go-to for curry spicing - it was absolutely delicious and super easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Heck yes! Indian (curry) is my favorite 'go to' takeout. I am an avid cook & can hold my own in the kitchen however, when it comes to curry ... I disappoint myself every time. Atlas, I never give up hope. Decided to try this recipe. I took the advice of others & made my own garam masala from this site. I subbed tofu for chicken & added a few veggies). The gravy was amazing! I added coconut milk (didn't have yogurt) & added extra garam masala. Next time I will cut the salt way down. Will make again for sure! My boyfriend said 'we could order this from our fav. Indian restaurant!' So, so pleased! Thank you for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Tastes as good as anything I've ever gotten at the Indian restaurants. Just the right amount of spice! Substituted the chicken with cauliflower, chickpeas and red potatoes and added green peas at the end. Put this over the "Indian Style Basmati Rice" recipe from this website. I will definitely be making this again. Might try substituting coconut milk for the yogurt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchyldcrab82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I made this exactly as written and it was not good. I'm not sure what happened, but I definitely wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Very tasty but too spicy for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Okay. Liked the sound of the ingredients, so decided to give it a go. Cut the chicken into one-inch pieces. Used much less oil, maybe 1 tb., and added garlic after the onions, so as not to burn. We like sauce, so used a bit more of the spices called for, big can of diced tomatoes instead of crushed, and some tomato paste to make it less watery. Also added cauliflower flowerettes. Lovely. Sorry to not adhere to recipe posted, but I kinda do my own thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Seriously loving this authentic Indian dish. Fairly easy to make and packs a flavorful punch! After reading the comments I cut the chicken in bite sized pieces, used half the cayenne, substituted 1/2c yogurt and 1c cocunut milk for the original 1c of yogurt, and added green peppers as well as cubed potatoes. However, even without the amendments this recipe is a winner. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States