Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
If I'm going to review a recipe it will only be if I stayed true to the instructions. I can't justify giving a bad review after writing about all the changes I made. Well guess what? This recipe is freakin great! Every bite was like a party in my mouth. Young and old, everyone enjoyed it. The leftovers were even better the next day. DON'T CHANGE A THING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I have not made this recipe but offer this suggestion as I have used Garam Marsala before in another recipe very similar which was well received. For the Garam Marsala you can substitute: 2 tsp. ground coriander, 1/4 tsp. EACH ground cardamom and cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper. Garam Marsala can be purchased at Penzey's or at World Market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Absolutely delicious. We cut the chicken breasts into large cubes, which worked very well. Reduced salt by 1 tsp overall. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Outstanding- I no longer need to order out for Indian! I could not get my hands on garam masala on short notice, but the meal was phenomenal even without it. Had to use thigh meat because this was a last minute choice and I had no time to run to the store- it was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Great recipe. I made one big change, though. Because my husband is from southern India, I cook up a TON of Indian dishes. To this recipe, I added 11 fresh small green chiles (chopped). The chiles make it much more authentic and tasteful, especially if you love genuinely spicy food! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This always turns out great and gives me a wonderful feeling of satisfaction throughout the experience...be warned though, lay out and measure all the ingredients before turning on the burner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolhand37

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made this last night and it came out really good. The one main change I made was that I used boneless chicken breast and thigh meat. I also cut the meat up prior to cooking. Other than that, I used 1/2 coconut milk and 1/2 yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Great recipe! It was my first time making curry and turned out great! I had to tweak the ingredients a bit due to not having everything available, but still turned out delicious! Fiance went back for seconds, so it was a sure hit. For my version, I used ground ginger instead of fresh (maybe 1/8 tsp or so) and put it in with the rest of the spices right before simmering. I used dried cilantro flakes instead of fresh. I increased the curry to 1 1/2 Tbsp since we like the curry flavor. I couldn't find any plain yogurt, so I used a mixture of 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup coconut milk (with a bit of sugar added). I also used 1/2 cup coconut milk instead of water. For the garam masala I used the 'Easy Garam Masala' recipe found at this website. It makes enough for multiple batches of curry. I also added two potatoes cut into bite-size pieces. This increased the cooking time by about 20-30 minutes, although next time I will add the potato in with the onion to save time. Next time I would also like to try some mushrooms in the curry. Overall a great recipe, and would make it again and again! Next time will be with shrimp. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This dish was really delicious. I made it for my girlfriend tonight and we both loved it. The gravy was incredibly flavorful, and the dish tasted like something that you would get at a good Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I found this to be incredibly hot and strangely bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States