Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This is the first time I have EVER attempted curry, but I stayed in India for 6 weeks and I served it to my sister in law who lived there for nearly a year. It was the REAL DEAL! She actually got emotional because of all of the memories of India it brought back! It has just enough kick to be enjoyable and not uncomfortable. I did not have curry powder, so I found recipes online for homemade curry powder and ended up just doubling the turmeric and added 1/4 teaspoon of ground mustard and 1/4 teaspoon of cardamom. It was awesome. I will go buy curry powder to see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
this came out fantastic despite me screwing up the measurments as i was trying to reduce it down to a smaller yield.. i used half the oil (intentional).. used dried ginger.. doubled the curry and cumin (unintentional, but didn't mind it).. doubled the salt added to the tomato/yogurt mixture (unintentional.. GRR & DOH!).. used grated tomatoes instead of the can crushed tomatoes.. and everything else i did "right".. i added some thawed out frozen broccoli to help even out the salt.. and it came out really good.. i would like to make this the way it was intended someday.. but for now.. even w/everything i did wrong.. this dish somehow came out right.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I tried this recipe for couple of times already within a month. My family and friends LOVE this. I add additional ingredients such as ketchup and honey. I also make this with vegetables for myself using broccoli, cauliflower, carrots...etc... they are really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Ive made this a few times and served over rice.Its spicy and very good.My whole family enjoys this recipe.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Excellent recipe. I always add a few whole cardamom, cloves, a cinnamon stick and some curry leaves. In addition, when I add the onion, garlic and ginger I add a pablano pepper and at times a Serrano and jalapeno as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Delicious and extremely easy to make! I followed this recipe exactly and the only change I would make next time is less onion as I personally don't care for onions that much. It was flavorful, easy, relatively quick, and everyone in my family loved it. I don't have to order out anymore and I can make as much as I want!! Thank you for a new staple dish in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Delish! Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
It tastes better than the chicken curry I get at the local Indian spot in Connecticut. I did not skimp on the ingredients (as an example whole milk yogurt instead of low fat), and tried to follow the recipe exactly. The garam masala was difficult to find, luckily after hunting through 3 different stores I found a mccormick brand in Walmart. The one downside is that I made the mistake of pairing it with the bad naan I bought from the grocery store (the Stonefire brand - too dry), now I'm on the hunt for some good naan to pair with this delicious curry. Good curry + Good Naan = Comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I love this recipe. I did make some "changes" but not many. I have used Chicken Breast cut into 1 inch cubes and I've also used boneless skinless thighs cut into cubes. My family loves Heat so I have used more of the pepper spices and added red pepper flakes to mine. I also double or triple up on the ginger and I add it at the end so the flavor stands out more. My entire family LOVES when I make this. Its definitely worth making over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Delicious and super easy! I cut my chicken up into pieces before cooking to speed it up and substituted cardamom and cinnamon for garam masala. This is the second time I've made it and my roommates love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States