Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This recipe is one of my favorites. I made a few changes to my liking. I added light cream instead of yogurt, 1/8 tsp of cayenne. It over powered the dish the first time, and tomato paste or sauce instead of crushed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Great curry. I appreciate that the recipe uses yogurt rather than coconut milk. I love coconut milk but it is too rich. I used non-fat plain yogurt and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Phenomenal. I wanted a thicker sauce that I could "scoop" with lavash bread, so I didn't add any water. It also greatly reduced the cooking time! I left the rest of the ingredients and ratios the same for the most part. I cut the salt in half and used sour cream instead of yogurt (it's what I had on hand). I also cubed the chicken and threw it in at the same time as the onion, etc, to avoid an extra step and further reduce the cooking time. I slightly reduced the amount of oil, and it could have been further reduced to achieve the goal of sauteeing/browinging everything. It came out really great, and the flavors were amazing thanks to this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
AMAZING. This recipe is so GOOD. I was cooking for two, so I used two chicken breasts, which weighed about 1 lb. But aside from that I made the full recipe, except I only used half the oil. I think if I was going to do the full two pounds of chicken breasts I would double the amounts of ingredients to make the sauce, because the sauce is CRAZY good. Also, I cooked the chicken breasts whole and then I pulled them out of the sauce at the end, chopped them up a little, and then added them back into the pan for last couple of minutes. Served with rice and garlic naan. We could eat it every. single. day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This was wonderful. Followed the recipe exactly but cut the chicken into cubes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is an amazing recipe!! It has a very authentic taste. I recently made this for a large party of 45 people and everyone LOVED it!! I am a busy mother of 4, so the only change I have made is that I usually double the sauce and add a deboned Sam's rotisserie chicken instead of searing off raw chicken...makes a quick delicious meal that even my pickiest kid loves. We love spicy food, but when serving company, I usually cut the cayenne pepper in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
What a delicious dish!!!! I doubled the spices, with the exception of the cayenne pepper, which I, in fact, halved…otherwise, my kids would've taken one bite, screamed, and wouldn't dare eat another. I didn't have the yogurt so I substituted with heavy cream and added some flour at the end to thicken it on up. Totally forgot the lemon juice--but didn't seem to miss a beat. The recipe was a total hit for our Sunday dinner and looked quite impressive. Next time I plan on reducing the heat all the way down to low instead of medium, as after cooking for only 15 minutes, the chicken wasn't as moist as I'd like it--wasn't too dry but I'm sure it would've been if I would've let it cook for the full 20 as directed. Overall a hit 5-star, A+ recipe that I will definitely repeat!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
The whole family loved this chicken. The kids did not eat the sauce but that was ok because it left more for my husband and myself. We loved dipping hot bread in the sauce. Will keep this recipe handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Just tried it and it is amazing! It tastes just like the one from our India restaurant. I only used half the cayenne pepper suggested though. Delicious! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I just made this and it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States