Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
to make it more authentic 2 things should be changed. 1) fry the onions alone untill they look like http://www.tigersandstrawberries.com/wp/wp-content/finishedonions.jpg this then add garlic and ginger...continue as normal 2)dont bother browning the chicken, use cubed chunks (1 inch give or take)and throw them in when it says to add the browned chicken... 20min is enough to cook small chunks with the lid on. your chicken will come out melt in your mouth delicious and the curry will have penetrated it more. i reailze my name isnt indian but i have a friend from india, having made this in front of him and had him and having his friends/exchange students make their curry recipes for me for me.... those were their suggestions / variations. pro tip for authenticity, wash your hands first but scoop the rice and chicken directly into them. ive never seen them eat it with silverware when its a group of indians eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Wuethrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I subbed 1 can full fat coconut milk instead of the yogurt & used 1.5 cans of 19oz tomatoes. Barely any cayenne. Used coconut oil to fry the onions, etc in! It was sooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I made this recipe yesterday and it was awesome! The only variation that I did was cut the chicken into chunks and added a can of tomatoes with green chilies. I had family members who dislike curry and LOVED this recipe because the flavor was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as written except I substituted chicken breasts for thighs. Wow! What a fantastic dish! Very tasty, savory and just spicy enough without being too hot. I chose this recipe from many online and have no regrets. Everyone loved it! I served it with white rice, Aloo Gobi, Indian spicy green beans and naan. I can't wait to try what little I have left for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahTheTraveler
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Just made this tonight and it was FABULOUS. Tasted just like what I order at my local Indian restaurant! I cooked this up for my parents and they were floored, definitely going to make this again. I did make one minor change which was just a preference thing-- I used 1/2 cup of coconut milk in place of the 1/2 cup water, just because I like the flavor. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly and it came out phenomenally. Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
As written, it was okay, but not very flavorful. I had to increase all of the spices and did not care for the lemon juice and sour cream. Maybe a plain yogurt or coconut milk would have been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
A really good curry! However, I would advise caution with the salt. The recipe suggests 3 teaspoons in all. I'm not adverse to salt but I used 1 teaspoon in all and it is just about right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This recipe is one of my favorites. I made a few changes to my liking. I added light cream instead of yogurt, 1/8 tsp of cayenne. It over powered the dish the first time, and tomato paste or sauce instead of crushed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Great curry. I appreciate that the recipe uses yogurt rather than coconut milk. I love coconut milk but it is too rich. I used non-fat plain yogurt and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Phenomenal. I wanted a thicker sauce that I could "scoop" with lavash bread, so I didn't add any water. It also greatly reduced the cooking time! I left the rest of the ingredients and ratios the same for the most part. I cut the salt in half and used sour cream instead of yogurt (it's what I had on hand). I also cubed the chicken and threw it in at the same time as the onion, etc, to avoid an extra step and further reduce the cooking time. I slightly reduced the amount of oil, and it could have been further reduced to achieve the goal of sauteeing/browinging everything. It came out really great, and the flavors were amazing thanks to this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States