Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
We truly loved this recipe. It was a little spicy so put some sour cream in it but other than that it was amazing!!!!! The second time I used a pinch of garam masala instead of a teaspoon and I also used 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper instead of the teaspoon. I also substituted the yogurt for sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyshieha Keitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aakemon
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was a giant hit with my family. I'm new to making Indian food and this was a great starter recipe - not too difficult but packed with flavor. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs instead of breasts as that's what I had on hand, and I'll probably use thighs in the future with this recipe. Thanks for posting. It's going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Excellent recipe! Made this last night and it was so flavorful and delicious. I ran out of tumeric but it didn't seem to affect the overall dish. Also didn't have garam marsala so I used the easy garam marsala recipe. Also, I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. I just pulsed about 4 large tomatoes in my food processor to crush it up and stewed it with the spice and onion mixture for 20 minutes before adding in everything else. I added the yogurt to taste and included a dash of coconut milk as others suggested. Added some green beans, but I bet peas would be good too. Wonderful recipe - this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I loved this recipe. Very flavorful and easy to make. I've made it a couple of times and have changed it a bit to make it more of a one-pot casserole. I cook it in a dutch oven and cut up the chicken instead of leaving the breast whole. I add one large diced potato and about three or four diced carrots at the same time as I return the chicken to the pot (and use 1 cup of water at this point instead of 1/2 cup). Then at the end I add about four cups of cooked brown rice (you could probably cook the rice in the dish itself but I'm not a great cook and end up burning it on the bottom of my pot). It's a very hearty meal that lasts me most of the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherri
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
My son made this for his girlfriend since she was craving curry ....what a great recipe. I was lucky enough to be invited for dinner.My son added mushrooms, peas and carrots..it was a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
One of the simplest, best Indian curry recipes I've tried. Even my kids who don't like spicy food enjoyed this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
My first ever curry recipe and the only one I need! This cury is absolutely flavorful and delicious. Very easy directions and a simply recipe to throw together in one pot. I have made it for all of my family and friends, who otherwise would have never tried curry, and have a group of followers who LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Perfect for hangovers. Heavenly dish just as good the next morning cold. I used 25% less spices, 50% more onions, and found it divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I loved this dish! This is my 1st review on allrecipe.com, and I have made several dishes so far, but this indian dish is by far the best dish I made I think in my life! It was a bit spicy for me, but it was so good! I didn't have cumin, but had all the other ingredients, and it came out restaurant quality food! I would probably put more onions and cilantro next time. I read someone's review about cutting the chicken into cubes and reducing the salt, so I did just that! Good recommendation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Le Anne
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Delicious! I added a can of chick peas for more protein and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Le Anne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States