Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Phenomenal. I wanted a thicker sauce that I could "scoop" with lavash bread, so I didn't add any water. It also greatly reduced the cooking time! I left the rest of the ingredients and ratios the same for the most part. I cut the salt in half and used sour cream instead of yogurt (it's what I had on hand). I also cubed the chicken and threw it in at the same time as the onion, etc, to avoid an extra step and further reduce the cooking time. I slightly reduced the amount of oil, and it could have been further reduced to achieve the goal of sauteeing/browinging everything. It came out really great, and the flavors were amazing thanks to this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
AMAZING. This recipe is so GOOD. I was cooking for two, so I used two chicken breasts, which weighed about 1 lb. But aside from that I made the full recipe, except I only used half the oil. I think if I was going to do the full two pounds of chicken breasts I would double the amounts of ingredients to make the sauce, because the sauce is CRAZY good. Also, I cooked the chicken breasts whole and then I pulled them out of the sauce at the end, chopped them up a little, and then added them back into the pan for last couple of minutes. Served with rice and garlic naan. We could eat it every. single. day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This was wonderful. Followed the recipe exactly but cut the chicken into cubes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is an amazing recipe!! It has a very authentic taste. I recently made this for a large party of 45 people and everyone LOVED it!! I am a busy mother of 4, so the only change I have made is that I usually double the sauce and add a deboned Sam's rotisserie chicken instead of searing off raw chicken...makes a quick delicious meal that even my pickiest kid loves. We love spicy food, but when serving company, I usually cut the cayenne pepper in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
What a delicious dish!!!! I doubled the spices, with the exception of the cayenne pepper, which I, in fact, halved…otherwise, my kids would've taken one bite, screamed, and wouldn't dare eat another. I didn't have the yogurt so I substituted with heavy cream and added some flour at the end to thicken it on up. Totally forgot the lemon juice--but didn't seem to miss a beat. The recipe was a total hit for our Sunday dinner and looked quite impressive. Next time I plan on reducing the heat all the way down to low instead of medium, as after cooking for only 15 minutes, the chicken wasn't as moist as I'd like it--wasn't too dry but I'm sure it would've been if I would've let it cook for the full 20 as directed. Overall a hit 5-star, A+ recipe that I will definitely repeat!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
The whole family loved this chicken. The kids did not eat the sauce but that was ok because it left more for my husband and myself. We loved dipping hot bread in the sauce. Will keep this recipe handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Just tried it and it is amazing! It tastes just like the one from our India restaurant. I only used half the cayenne pepper suggested though. Delicious! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I just made this and it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I like to try a recipe just the way it is posted before I start making changes or suggestions. This is one of the best recipes I have ever tried anywhere!! I didn't change a thing and it was wonderful. I have not found anything this fresh tasting or as good in any Indian Food Restaurant yet, and I love Indian food! One of the other comments was that this dish was like "A Party in your Mouth" and I have to agree…truely a party in my mouth! My kitchen still has the wonderful smell of this dish. I made it last night, which was very good, and we had left overs tonight, which I have to say was even better. I will make this dish for guests but will make it up the day before and do the sides the day of, just before I serve my guests. I made batsomi rice and green beans sauted in coconut oil & sea salt for the sides…..yummm. Party time! The only thing I will do next time is cut the chicken in smaller pieces so that you don't have to cut up the chicken while eating this tasty dish. Thank you for sumitting this recipe, any more in your recipe box you want to share???? Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianna Warner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe that the whole family loved. We substituted the chicken breasts with boneless thighs and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States