Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This is the curry recipe that I've been looking for. I didn't add the half cup of water at the end because I like a thicker sauce, but this is really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Geahlen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Absolutely delicious! We wanted something new and different and this was it. I only made one adjustment and that was to cut the oil in 1/2 to brown the chicken. It is spicy so if you don't like your nose to run you might cut a little of the cayenne but we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Bland, bland and bland. It wasn't creamy, it wasn't sweet, it wasn't oily. In my experience eating at many authentic Indian restaurants (I live in Toronto) and tasting dishes prepared by Indian friends, this was flavourless with the exception of a strong paprika taste. I don't understand why this has such high reviews. It's missing something, or a couple things. Possibly milk or cream, coconut milk, sugar or something else. But I was so bored by this recipe that I'm not going to try to improve it. It was also messy. The half cup of oil on med-high heat splattered everywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I used this recipe as a basis for my own dish, and it turned out very good. I used chicken thighs and sour cream instead of breasts and yogurt. I added some dry mustard instead of corriander and garum marsala. In other words, this recipe is very adaptable. It is spicy, but not overwhelming. The sauce goes excellently over rice and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
My family loves this recipe, I make this twice a month and it really is better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I ADORE this recipe I wanted a real Indian style chicken curry and I found it in this recipe. I will look no more. 2 very small changes I made cuz I can't take too much heat - 1/2 tsp Cayenne pepper, used tomato sauce and put 1 cup of coconut milk with the yogurt to smooth out all flavors. I am not a fan of Thai-type curries with creams but it really made it sensational.I did not have cilantro and did not put lemon. I took a trip from a reader and mixed all spices before I started, great tip. If you're looking for a GREAT chicken curry recipe, try this one first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen G
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Authentic taste, my family loved it. I went a little light on the cayenne, and added carrots. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Made this and it was excellent. Followed it to the Tee and it taste great. Will make this again in the near future...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I just made this and it was delicious! I am excited not to have to order out for Indian! Also, a very cheap but flavorful dinner once you have stocked all the spices. I left out the cilantro, because I didn't have any on hand, and it was fine without it. It was a tad spicy for me (I am not a very spicy food person) so I think I might do without the cayenne pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Oh my goodness.. I made a couple changes due to missing ingredients, but turned out awesome! I'm a cultural food guru, have traveled all over the world - I know good food and this recipe was great. Here is what I did: I used a half chicken in one piece and fried it on both sides almost all the way through. I followed the recipe for the most part, but substituted yogurt with unsweetened coconut milk. I also changed all the water ingredients to chicken broth, the cayenne pepper for whole dried chipotle chiles which I finely chopped, and I had to make my own garam masala with 1/4 tsp each of cloves, cinnamon, black pepper, cumin, nutmeg, and turmeric. I then simmered abt 40 mins until the chicken almost fell off the bone, and served it over rice mixed with green onions and pine nuts. What a treat, so gooooood. This is a new fave:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isaac Grove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 396) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States