Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Really a 4.5 stars. I also cut the breasts into large chunks. It's the best at home curry I've made, and I've tried many, trying to get to that "what we got at the restaurant" taste. This wasn't quite "that restaurant" but it was good. I did cut back on the final salt addition and my wife did say she thought it was still salty. I did about half the cayenne only because my 3.5 year old might have had a problem with this. He liked it just fine as I did it. I bet adding some thigh meat as well would make this just that much better. The chicken was a tad dry, but that's where the curry gets to do it's job. I paired it with this: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/indian-style-basmati-rice/detail.aspx and it was a perfect combination. Only thing missing was naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Made this recipe with only one change, I didn't have the crushed tomatoes, so I used a small can of tomato sauce, and let me tell you, I will be making this again and again! It has wonderful flavor, texure and aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly and i loved it!!! Definitely will be making it again. I did add a little more water in the end because i thought the salt was a little much but other than that it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I totally made this in the slow-cooker and it turned out great! And that made it a little healthier because I didn't use any oil. I just put the chicken in the slow cooker, added the water, then all the ingredients except the oil. I substituted fresh ginger (used powdered) and a garam masala substitute I found online, cause I was out. We are big Indian food fans (we lived there for several years), and this recipe is definitely a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
AMAZING! will cut back the cayenne by about half next time, I like spicy but its really spicy! Be careful not to over cook the chicken and would be good with chicken cut into bite sized pieces and then serve over rice, and maybe side of stir fry veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dewdsblondie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
this was soo super simple and easy to make. all my guests ate it up. for the next time i will add a little more salt for my taste but thats for me personally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Chicken was good, but sauce wasn't. The sauce was really, really salty. The chicken was nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
We make this at least twice a month. I have 4 kids and they all love it. The only things I would point out is to adjust the pepper to your liking -I use approx. 1/3 of what the recipe calls for- and cut the chicken in smaller pieces. I have also made changes like adding raisins, or coconut cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Delicious! I love all the spicy flavorings mixed together. Hot....so if you like it mild, reduce cayenne amount. The yogurt kind of separated as our cooked so I am wondering if anyone else had this happen? Maybe that's expected? If not does anyone know why that would happen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Excellent, easy to make and really tasty! I used chicken tenderloins and just simmered them in the sauce at the end, which seemed to work well too. Be careful with the cayenne - I added it half tsp at a time to make sure not to overdo the spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States