Indian Chicken Curry II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Great recipe! I had two people from India helping me make it and they suggested these changes: more curry (they added about 8 tbls), fresh ground pepper, and use Indian Chili powder not cayenne and increase the amount to about 3 tsp. They said that cayenne is a western spice and Indian chili powder is more authentic. This made it VERY hot. We used the sauce to help spice up another mild curry dish we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2333 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWELKNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
I used this recipe when I made curry myself for the first time ever. I loved it! Absolutely wonderful. Having experimented with the recipe since that first experience, I suggest trying out a different first step. In a dry pot pre-heated to a medium heat, first roast the curry powder for a minute or until browned, stirring constantly. Add the paprika and the cinnamon, and ginger stirring constantly. (I do not add the sugar) Then add the garlic, bay leaf, and onions, and drizzle the olive oil over top. You can do this with about 1 1/2- 2tbsp. of olive oil. Continue as per the recipe. I found that that extra first step enriches the flavor of the curry powder and makes for a fuller-bodied/ slightly spicier curry. Amazing recipe and I will definitely use it again and again! - Nadia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
886 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is probably the best curry I've had in a long long long LONG time. My alterations are: 1/4 cup curry powder - I love the taste! 1/2 tsp cinnamon 3/4 tsp ground ginger 1 tsp chilli flakes 1/2 red bell pepper 1/2 cup pineapple tidbits I used a whole can of coconut milk because I didn't have yogurt. I also added about 1/4 cup low fat sour cream to make it a bit creamier. I served it on Jasmine rice. All I can say is that this is amazing!! If I could rate it 100 stars, I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
767 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. My husband is Indian and he took one bite and was done. I have been cooking Indian for 14 years and this is not it. I will continue with my in-laws' version instead. I will post that recipe soon. Sorry to leave negative feedback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
401 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This whole recipe is upside down. First of all you need to fry the whole spices. Use vegetable oil for Indian cooking, you want the oil to taste of these spices, not olives!. It is the taste of the spices in the oil (whether whole or ground), that seperates high quality fare from stuff in glass jars and plastic packets. Use 1" cinnamon stick instead of ground cinnamon, taste is far superior, put this in with the bay leaf (though 2 is probably better) and if you want more taste, 4 or 5 bruised cardomoms and a couple of cloves. All these need to go straight into very hot oil, the spices will pop and splutter and release their flavours into the oil. Should only need a minute or so, but if you have heat too low you will need to use your nose!. Next add onion, garlic and ginger together, this will stop the garlic and ginger from tasting raw and allow them to release their flavours. Lower the heat, but still keep it medium high. Once onion etc is done add ground spices, let them touch the bottom of the hot pan (stirring), they will brown somewhat and they won't taste raw, do this for about a minute (again, use your nose!). Do the same for the tomato puree, it browns, taste improves. I would let the yoghurt integrate and cook a bit before adding the coconut milk. I don't why you would need to remove the bay leaf... The above..frying spices etc is Indian food 101 and can be used in all recipes and will produce "that" taste you are after (spices integrated into the oil!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
384 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
A very nice Chicken Curry. I also used 1 tsp. of Garam Masala. I wish I had left out the lemon and the cayenne because I thought it tasted better before those were added. I even cut down the cayenne to 1/4 tsp. because my youngest daughter doesn't like it too hot. I think that next time I will omit the last two ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
My first comment is to read through the rest of the reviews before making this dish. The recipe alone is a great starting place, but you may want to take some of the suggestions you read to make it just right for you. Not everyone likes the same flavors, so you need to tweak it specifically for your taste buds. Thanks everyone for making this dish a perfect one for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
OMG--this is sooooo good! I added 2 small potatoes, peeled and cubed, and 1/2 cup of peas; also sprinkled cilantro on just before serving. Didn't have yogurt, so I just used a full can of coconut milk. I would give this 100 stars if I could. A must if you like Indian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This was my first attempt ever at curry. I chose a recipe with ingredients that I might be able to use outside of the recipe. This recipe did that and allowed me to modify it slightly so that my 4 year old could eat it. I added a potato and cubed butternut squash. I decided that after these additions, you really could have done without the chicken and had a vegetarian dish. I ended up adding 2 cans of coconut milk (the light kind) and the consistency was absolutely perfect! I DID need to simmer it for about an extra 20-30 minutes for the potatoes, but it didn't affect the consistency of the other veggies at all! This was a HUGE hit! Oh, I left out the cayenne to eliminate the spice and it ended up needing a little salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I just cooked this and im only 20 and this was the first time I tried cooking something that didnt involve a microwave, a jar or a packet and I must say it was one of the best currys I've ever ate. Just a shame I had a fight with my dad since he tried taking over and was putting in too much ginger, so he went to bed and refused to eat any. My mam loved it as much as me though :) One thing I would say is I used the 4-6 serving recipe size ie one cup of yogurt and it barely filled half the plate and other half was chips. That was 2 generous servings. I guess if you are putting it on a bed of rice then maybe it would fill 4. Thanks anyway im gonna cook this for my friends next! I just cooked this again. This is a few months on since last time but this time I worked out what a cup is in metric. So I used the proper measurements which worked out as 16 tablespoons for 1 cup. Now this made 3 large servings but I think I preffered it with less yogurt and coconut milk making it thicker and more concentrated. I think last time I probably used around 12 tablespoons of yogurt and 9 of coconut milk. It was still a very nice curry with this extra stuff but I definetly preffered it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 773) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States