Indian Chicken Curry II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This is a good base, but I listened to a lot of comments and followed their instructions. I left out the lemon, added cloves, and fried the spices before cooking them. I also cooked the chicken with coriander and salt. I used canola oil, and my special ingredient- cocoa powder! It's really good, but mine turned out rather spicy because of the cayenne powder I put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I loved this and so did my husband and two of my teenage sons. I made two versions: one with chicken as the recipe says and one with Tempeh for myself. Both were great and I followed the recipe pretty exact. I added a little more lemon then listed in the recipe because I love lemon. Anyway, will certainly make this again. I used fat free Greek yogurt and light coconut milk to decrease calories and fat and yet I still loved it. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
De-lish!! My first attempt at cooking Indian food..was completely inspired after watching the movie the Lunchbox. My dish was a hit, everyone loved it, including me. Personally, I would leave out the lemon juice at the end. I added garam masala (found at the grocery store) and used less curry then recipe called for..salt was a definite challenge..taste as you go and salt to taste. I will definitely make this dish again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made this tonight and it was a hit... I did make a few changes though. I didn't have coconut milk so I used regular milk instead, I used marinara instead of tomato paste, tyme instead of bay leaves and I also added some chili powder.... It was soooo good, I'll definitely be making this again... Thanks for the recipe ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Fennicks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This recipe was a good starting point. I changed a few things though (I rarely follow a recipe exactly). First I added all the spices in the oil (I used coconut oil because I was out of vegetable oil and olive is not the right kind for Indian food). I didn't add the cinnamon, but put in 2 sticks, I doubled the curry, plus added 2TB Garam Masala. After frying the spices, I added the tomato paste, onions, garlic, and ginger. I also didn't use just chicken breasts (most flavorless piece of the chicken), instead I used left over chicken meat from a whole chicken I had cooked the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zeke
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I find that this recipe is a great base it gives you a platform to build on where you can go so many directions. Following the recipe I found that adding a bit of honey and little less lemon gave it a really nice flavor profile the red bell pepper was just for color and texture, my children don't care for the heat yet so instead of adding 3 tablespoons of red curry powder I added 2 tablespoons of yellow curry powder and 1 tablespoon of red for that nice rich ruby red color but not as spicy. After that it was just minor adjustments to taste, I love this recipe good work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Just made this! The sauce is delicious, but not too spicy for my western tastes. Next time I will try some different spices in the curry, rather than using store bought stuff, but this is a great starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I've tried several chicken curry recipes on here and this one is very good. I shall take the advice of some other on here and add some potato next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I love this recipe. I marinated the chicken in lemon juice, curry and Trader Joe's frozen pineapple and add the marinated chicken and pineapple together. Awesomeness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I took out the tomato paste and I use vegetable oil instead of olive oil. I also fried all of the spices before adding the onion and garlic! Also, all of the curry I've ever had from my Indian friends had potatoes in it, so I added potatoes that I diced and slightly boiled. But overall it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 769) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States