Indian Chicken Curry I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
I don't mean to be the only person who didn't think this dish was great, but this is not a curry dish and anyone who likes and knows what a good curry dish tastes like knows this would not be considered a curry dish in any restaurant or by anyone who truly know and likes curry. I am not trying to be mean, but the tomato is just too much and it completely drowns out the flavor of the curry. The tomato needs to be cut in half and definatly add more curry powder, I added twice as much and still could barely taste it! Those who wrote that they normally don't like curry, but liked this dish obviously liked it because it's not a curry dish. It's good if it were supposed to be a creamy tomato dish, but it's just not curry at all. Those who truly like curry, I don't reccomend this, you'll be disappointed. It did have a unique and zesty flavor, so go into this not antisipating a taste of curry, but a zesty tomato flavor, kind of like a creamed marinara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Okay. I followed other reviewers' advice and doubled the curry (since I was using regular curry powder) and halved the tomato sauce (since others complained the tomato sauce dominated the dish too much). Sadly, this didn't help enough; the tomato sauce was still the strongest flavor in the dish and the next more distinctive was the cinnamon (then came the curry). This didn't have a flavor I liked, and certainly not a distinctively curry one. I much prefer Indian Tomato Chicken recipe (for a spicy tomato-based Indian recipe) and Indian Chicken Curry II recipe (for a true creamy non-tomato-based curry recipe) on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This is a really easy, great-tasting recipe that my husband loves and I've received compliments on. Here are some modifications I make: 1) I double the curry powder. (I use regular supermarket curry powder.) I do like the taste of curry to really come out, and I tend to like things spicy (though not so spicy that you can't taste the actual food). 2) I use diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce (since I remember one reader saying that the tomato sauce overwhelms the taste of curry. 3) Can't be bothered w/ whole cloves, cinnamon stick, etc.--I just use a pinch or two of cloves, cardamom and cinnamon. 4) If you are on a diet, substituting plain nonfat yogurt for the coconut milk works great--just don't overheat so the yogurt doesn't curdle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This was really good I increased the garlic and ginger and cut the chicken into bitesize pieces. After making this recipe the first time I learned a very valuable lesson. Get all of the spices at an Indian market. For example cardamom cost $12 at the grocery store and you only get a very small amount it cost a $2 at the Indian market and you get a whole bunch. I also added a couple of serranos peppers as I wanted it hotter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This curry lacks the punch of using individual spices roasted and ground at the time of preparation (the use of curry powder and not individual spices). It is far from being a bad curry but preground spices or mixed ground spices such as curry powder are beyond their prime and mostly dried out. All curry powder suffers so which is why thiss dish does not leap out at you and the aroma is restrained rather than alive. Curry powder is not an ingredient normally seen in most Indian kitchens. It is in none of the kitchens of my Indian or Pakistani friends. This essentially makes it Indian curry for people who are not Indian. Olive oil is not used in India neither. Try unsalted butter or ghee. However, I will say it is a good recipe for novices exploring South Asian style cooking, but as your knowledge grows, learn the individual spices and move on from curry powder. I substituted an equal mix of cumin seed (pan fired and pulverized), corriander (pulverized but not fired), a pinch of turmeric, some cayenne (to taste) for the curry powder and this recipe took on real life. Leave everything else the same. Bone in chicken is essential for the flavour, deboned breasts dry out. Thighs are good too with this and more flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
This an excellent curry!!! My english, curry obsessed husband loves this and he is a tough customer when it comes to curry. I made a couple changes just for convenience--the coconut milk avalable in my area is a 13 oz can (as opposed to the 10 oz called for) so I just add an extra TBS of curry to compensate. For the cardomom, cloves & cinamon- the recipe would be better followed as written however ... I only have powdered spice on hand so I use 3/4 to 1 tsp of each..it is still very good. thanks for an awesome recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I LOVE this recipe! One of the best dishes I've made. I used powdered spices instead of whole spices. I cut the chicken thighs into bite sized pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2001
I was excited to find a chicken curry recipe using coconut milk as I had had some in an Indian restaurant once and loved it. I enjoyed the recipe a lot, but I think that next time I'd cut down on the tomato sauce and increase the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Awesome aroma, awesome taste. Used 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves and 1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom instead of the cloves and pods and came out great. Paired it with Indian Style Basmati Rice from this website and what a meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I just wanted the other cooks out there to know that I use more curry too when I make this. I also do not use chicken breasts, I use other parts of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States