Indian Chicken Curry I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe has been the only Indian dish that I have successfully prepared. Over the years, I have always used what I had on hand and changed some things. I use light coconut milk, whatever chicken I have on hand- I prefer thighs, but breast works well too. I use all dry spices, and instead of tomato sauce, I use tomato paste and the whole can of coconut milk (approx 14 oz). I also add a dash of sugar to taste. To make this more healthy I also add a small bag of frozen peas after everything is done simmering. The flavors meld so well; this is pretty close to the flavor complexity of some of my favorite Indian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by libertinemoi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I changed a few things--cut up a whole chicken; skinned it; after browning chicken, i cooked onions, garlic, and ginger as directed but also added the cinnamon, cloves, and cardamon and toasted that as well. Then, i added the tomato sauce (only 8 oz.) and the coconut milk and stirred. Lastly, i reintroduced the chicken. It's better if u mix the sauce before adding the chicken again. I also added some cayenne peppers (chopped) to the onion mix. The flavor still required tweaking, so i added a tablespoon of ketchup. That seemed to help a lot. I simmered the chicken an hour with a lid on til it fell off the bone and then reduced the sauce til it was a bit thicker. Serve with rice and pappadum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Indian dishes are quiet complex, but, this one covered it all..... The family loved it & I intend to add this to our meal plans for "exotic" dishes :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
So easy and flavorful. Not TOO spicy. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
SOOOO good! Some minor changes we made was using 1/2 the can of tomato sauce and using only 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts....the more sauce the better! It was great, especially because we had the spicy curry. I served mine over couscous and sprinkled it all with green peas. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I gave this recipe four stars instead of five because I had to modify it a little. Because of all the complaints about the overpowering flavor of the tomato sauce, I used a can of diced tomatoes instead. Next time I will add them closer to the end because they kind of disintegrated. The only other change I made was to use ground spices instead of whole. Because the whole breasts were a little unwieldy, I took them out and shredded them. Next time I will use boneless, skinless breasts as I think this would cut down on the cook time. It smelled so good when it was cooking and the flavor was great. I served it over rice. The leftovers were just as delicious. As other reviewers noted, it is not a strong curry flavor, so really pour in the curry if you like it. This is a great base recipe and next time I think I may throw in some other veggies with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I thought the recipe was very good and easy to make. After reading the other comments I added a lot more curry to make it spicier. My picky husband liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ty Jackson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AlaskaMama
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Good! First time making curry. I only had the powder spices for cardamom, cloves, and cinnamon, so I added a teaspoon of each. I added 3 tablespoons of curry, and a can of tomato paste. I served over rice. Husband did not like it very much because he has no appreciation for an abundance of flavor, so poo on him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlaskaMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great recipe. Very tasty and just right with the spices. If you like this you may also like S&B GOLDEN CURRY SAUCE MIX. It is a packaged sauce mix that you just add the meat and potatoes to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I would re-name this recipe and agree that this recipe was not quite the curry dish I hoped it would be. It is delicious as is and makes for great left-overs, but I would not classify it as curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Dupont, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States