Indian Chicken Curry I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was my first time making any type of Curry and it turned out wonderful! I'm vegetarian so I used potatoes and peas instead of chicken. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunkyB137

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
After having great curry while on vacation I had been searching for a good curry recipe and this is it! The flavor is creamy and delicious without being too potent, just spicy enough. I didn't have the cardamom so I omitted it. The tomato taste was not overpowering, in fact my hubby couldn't even really taste it. Perhaps it wasn't authentic but it was a great recipe for those of us that want to ease into Indian cuisine. I will definitely make this again and perhaps add more veggies the next, there was a lot of extra sauce. Thanks Kristi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristenK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
It tastes authentic, almost as good as eating at our delicious local Indian restaurant owned by a family from northern India.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TomKatJuicePlus.com
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This tasted just like the Khorma in a restaurant. It was delicious! Some things that helped... I calculated the recipe down to 4 servings and used 3 large boneless skinless chicken breats instead of 5 bone-in breats and that was the right amount. Also, when it says 4 servings, it really makes 5. I added about a tablespoon more of curry powder because I thought there was too much of a tomato presence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I thought this recipe was just OK. It wasn't a bad dinner and my family liked it, but if I had ordered this dish in an Indian restaurant and got this, I would have been disappointed. I will keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe has been the only Indian dish that I have successfully prepared. Over the years, I have always used what I had on hand and changed some things. I use light coconut milk, whatever chicken I have on hand- I prefer thighs, but breast works well too. I use all dry spices, and instead of tomato sauce, I use tomato paste and the whole can of coconut milk (approx 14 oz). I also add a dash of sugar to taste. To make this more healthy I also add a small bag of frozen peas after everything is done simmering. The flavors meld so well; this is pretty close to the flavor complexity of some of my favorite Indian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by libertinemoi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I changed a few things--cut up a whole chicken; skinned it; after browning chicken, i cooked onions, garlic, and ginger as directed but also added the cinnamon, cloves, and cardamon and toasted that as well. Then, i added the tomato sauce (only 8 oz.) and the coconut milk and stirred. Lastly, i reintroduced the chicken. It's better if u mix the sauce before adding the chicken again. I also added some cayenne peppers (chopped) to the onion mix. The flavor still required tweaking, so i added a tablespoon of ketchup. That seemed to help a lot. I simmered the chicken an hour with a lid on til it fell off the bone and then reduced the sauce til it was a bit thicker. Serve with rice and pappadum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Indian dishes are quiet complex, but, this one covered it all..... The family loved it & I intend to add this to our meal plans for "exotic" dishes :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
So easy and flavorful. Not TOO spicy. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
SOOOO good! Some minor changes we made was using 1/2 the can of tomato sauce and using only 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts....the more sauce the better! It was great, especially because we had the spicy curry. I served mine over couscous and sprinkled it all with green peas. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States