Indian Chicken Curry I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I added cubed potatoes to the recipe, doubled the coconut milk and added much more curry powder. Had I heeded the advice of others and added much less tomato sauce, I wouldn't have needed to change the coconut milk and curry powder! Oops. I also added some raisins to add a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I think had I followed the recipe exactly- it would have been better. I used a lite coconut milk instead of the fattening kind, curry I had on hand, and then added 2 tabls of sugar as well as diced and roasted sweet potatoes. The sweet potatoes went well with the sauce- but I didn't love it. Again- maybe it's not fair to judge it because I didn't follow the recipe verbatim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
I made this for a few friends and they both enjoyed it. I couldn't find the "Madras" curry powder so I used one from the store but think it would have been tastier with the Madras. It smelled wonderful but I don't think the flavor was as strong as the smell. I'd make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMSURFBUNNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
Loved it, even without the cloves/cardamom/cinnamon, which I didn't happen to have on hand (shameful, I know!) Will definitely make it again, and soon, this time in its full fragrant glory...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
Hmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Wonderful recipe. Added 1 tablespoon sugar. Very similar to Thai dish Panang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
This was so easy to make and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This is a really easy, great-tasting recipe that my husband loves and I've received compliments on. Here are some modifications I make: 1) I double the curry powder. (I use regular supermarket curry powder.) I do like the taste of curry to really come out, and I tend to like things spicy (though not so spicy that you can't taste the actual food). 2) I use diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce (since I remember one reader saying that the tomato sauce overwhelms the taste of curry. 3) Can't be bothered w/ whole cloves, cinnamon stick, etc.--I just use a pinch or two of cloves, cardamom and cinnamon. 4) If you are on a diet, substituting plain nonfat yogurt for the coconut milk works great--just don't overheat so the yogurt doesn't curdle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
I love the savory taste of cury however I do not like eyewatering curry pastes or hot powders therefore I used common supermarket curry powder with 1/8 t of green curry paste. I used 1/2t (plus) powdered cardamon instead of pods, 1 bay leaf, 1/4 t (plus) cumin and tumeric, and one chicken bullion to "kick it up a notch" . Without these additions this recipe would leave somthing to be desired. I think using a whole chicken and removing skin after cooking would be tastier than using breasts only. Maybe I will try this next time I get a taste for curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States