Indian Chicken Curry I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This recipe was fantastic. I will definately make this again. I also used cubed boneless chicken breasts and I substituted the tomatoe sauce for a can of diced tomatoes and a little tomato paste. Served over basmati rice and YUM YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Excellent. I did chop my chicken into bites so it would be more like the Indian restaurants and I used regular curry instead of hot. This was easy and it tasted so so good! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I used regular red curry powder, and cardamom powder instead of pods. It turned out great anyway. I added some cayenne pepper, and paprika. I also added some eggplant. The only thing I would have changed was cutting up the chicken instead of using whole chicken breasts. Also, I used boneless chicken. This was a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I'm rating this a 4 because my hubby loved it. I guess I'm a wimp, because it was too hot for me. I used regular curry and added some extra because a lot of the reviews said it was bland. Well I guess I added way too much! I also used garam masala instead of the last 4 indgredients. I used one 8 oz. can of tomato sauce and light coconut milk. Also, my chicken came out tough but maybe that's because I cooked it at too high of a temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Yummy! Great aroma! I don't see how some of the other reviewers made this without the cloves, cardimom, cinnimin, etc....these are all key ingredients to make this dish what it is! We loved the flavor and the smoothnes of the sauce. I will make again and double the curry next time! This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Wonderful and so easy to make!!! My husband is cooking-impaired and does a great job with this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flintstone, Georgia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Pretty good chicken curry. I used boneless chicken breasts and cut them up into chunks to make it more like a dish i love at a local restaurant. The only think i will do different next time is substiture garam masala for the curry, cloves, cardamon, and cinnamon. I just like the flavor of this spice better in a dish like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J HUTCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
My husband who is from Kenya loved this so did my kids. I did have to add some flour to thicken it up but it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I added cubed potatoes to the recipe, doubled the coconut milk and added much more curry powder. Had I heeded the advice of others and added much less tomato sauce, I wouldn't have needed to change the coconut milk and curry powder! Oops. I also added some raisins to add a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I think had I followed the recipe exactly- it would have been better. I used a lite coconut milk instead of the fattening kind, curry I had on hand, and then added 2 tabls of sugar as well as diced and roasted sweet potatoes. The sweet potatoes went well with the sauce- but I didn't love it. Again- maybe it's not fair to judge it because I didn't follow the recipe verbatim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States