Indian Chicken Curry I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Wow! This tastes the same as the dish I had at a famous Indian restaurant. We couldn't stop eating it. I served it with the tradtional peanuts, raisins, and flaked coconut on top. I didn't have coconut milk, but used sour cream and it was ok. Next time I'll use the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This is really good. I made this for supper tonight and I really enjoyed the flavor. I did somethings different. I used boneless, skinless chicken breast halves and cut them into bite-size pieces, I also did not add any tomato sauce at all. My picky husband hates tomato sauce. I also added some cubed potatoes, and ground turmeric. I did not have any cardamom pods so I just used ground cardamom and it turned out great! Thanks for your wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This was delicious! I substituted four fresh (skinned) tomatos in place of the tomato sauce and added a can of tomato paste and a 1/2 teaspoon of turmeric. As a low fat alternative, I used low fat coconut milk. You could also add vegetables (carrots, peas, red bell pepper, brocolli, beans, asparagus tips) in place, or in addition to the chicken. I'll definitely make this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizzSpider

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ware, Hertfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Very good recipe, my husband loved it. I didnt have coconut milk on hand so I substituted sour cream and it still came out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I like this pretty well, but will keep searching for a better one. I used a can of diced tomatoes, drained, rather than tomato sauce and 2 tsp. curry powder as friends requested "mild."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
I found this recipe several years ago. This is the VERY BEST Indian Chicken Curry recipe I have ever tried! This is EXACTLY how I like my Curry Chicken! I'm so glad I found this recipe and I use it every chance I get. Everyone who tastes it, wants the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This was really good I increased the garlic and ginger and cut the chicken into bitesize pieces. After making this recipe the first time I learned a very valuable lesson. Get all of the spices at an Indian market. For example cardamom cost $12 at the grocery store and you only get a very small amount it cost a $2 at the Indian market and you get a whole bunch. I also added a couple of serranos peppers as I wanted it hotter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I made this for friends and family one night with wilted greens. They thought they had gone to heaven! I used regular curry powder because the kids wouldn't have been able to handle the madras, but it was great non the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLCPRNMN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
We love this dish. I cut breast and thigh meat in chunks before browning because that's how our favorite Indian restaurant serves it. My husband didn't like all the onion, but I did. I used ground cardamom and ground cinnamon which worked just fine and maybe even imparted a little more flavor than the whole spices would have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Very tasty but not like in a restraunt. Definitely worth a try though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States