Indian Chicken Curry I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is a nice mild and flavorful curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is an awesome recipe. I tried it the other night and it came out really good. I did not change anything and my 5 year old loved it even though she's been asking for more milk because it was a bit spicy. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
We liked it! My Indian landlady from days of yore showed me that you take chicken pieces (legs, thighs, wings, breast, etc., and whack them into smaller bite size servings) leaving the bones in, and fry them in hot oil until they nicely dark brown. Then you toss in the spices and add a blended puree of the cooking liquid blended with your onion and ginger and cook it up until the chicken is tender, adding ample salt. I concur -- using diced tomatoes is much more appropriate than tomato sauce or puree' and adds a lighter tomato flavor which is better. Cook the chicken in the tomato dices and liquid, until it's tender, then at the last 5 minutes add the coconut milk for best flavor. Trust me, this is worth whole spices, just tell the kids to fish them out. Serve with naan, or tortillas, or other flat bread, and a dish of rice -- add a steaming bowl of broccoli and you have your meal done! Remember diced tomatoes in juice, not tomato sauce, cook until the chicken is done and well coated with the spice mixture and wait to add the coconut milk until the last few minutes for best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I added 4 seeds of cardamon, a pinch of hing... Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I love this recipe! I cook it at least on e a month. It's easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
It was OK but not more than that. Even though I (as some other reviewers suggested) doubled the curry powder it was still not what I had expected from a curry. Oh well, we can't all like the same things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Not a keeper for me. It was not very flavorful. Based on other reviews, I used 3 diced Roma tomatoes in place of the tomato sauce and added a touch of chicken broth to make up for the loss in liquid. Had to add a LOT of extra curry powder, cumin and salt to make it flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Excellent! I loved this. Didn't have a cinnamon stick so used a sprinkle of cinnamon instead. Very fragrant with the cardoman seeds. Excellent the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Didn't have coconut milk so I added a about 5 oz of 2%milk which was on hand. Added about a half tablespoon of ground cayenne pepper, and about a teaspoon of Tabasco because my bf loves spicy food. Turned out great! Thanks for the receipt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
A lot of work for a little flavor. I doubled the curry but it still lacks something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States