Indian Chicken Curry I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2015
Great, easy recipe. Fantastic flavor, I often double the garlic and ginger for even more. I have made this recipe many times and my kids even love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christabelle
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
I doubled the curry powder, and used the least amount of tomato sauce possible. I added some red and orange bell peppers. Pretty good recipe, just keep in mind the tomato sauce me, it might be better to put a little bit at a time and adjust according to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Awesome! My whole family loved it and I'm adding to our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khadija Riegert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seabeck, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This was my first time ever making curry anything and it was awesome!! This is how I will hook my new man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I substitute tomato sauce to tomato puree and opt out the coconut milk. It tasted very good as per my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hamidah Abdullah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Really needed a lot more curry and ginger and garlic, otherwise good after I added more of everything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John Myers
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I tried 2 different variations of this. Unfortunately many of the spices can not be found here so I used substitutes which still turned out very good. I made one with chicken cutting it in to cubes. Tasted great with vegetables and rice. The second time I wanted to make it using beef, so bought some beef from the local market and added apart from the onion parboiled broccoli for beef and broccoli curry. Both tasted great even using substitutions. For Cream since Cream is very hard to come by here in Peru, I used 1 cuap of evaporated milk and 2 tablespoons of Coconut Cream, for the cardamon pods which can't be found here, I used 1/4 teaspoon of Nutmeg and 1/4 teaspoon of ground Cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Myers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is a nice mild and flavorful curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is an awesome recipe. I tried it the other night and it came out really good. I did not change anything and my 5 year old loved it even though she's been asking for more milk because it was a bit spicy. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
We liked it! My Indian landlady from days of yore showed me that you take chicken pieces (legs, thighs, wings, breast, etc., and whack them into smaller bite size servings) leaving the bones in, and fry them in hot oil until they nicely dark brown. Then you toss in the spices and add a blended puree of the cooking liquid blended with your onion and ginger and cook it up until the chicken is tender, adding ample salt. I concur -- using diced tomatoes is much more appropriate than tomato sauce or puree' and adds a lighter tomato flavor which is better. Cook the chicken in the tomato dices and liquid, until it's tender, then at the last 5 minutes add the coconut milk for best flavor. Trust me, this is worth whole spices, just tell the kids to fish them out. Serve with naan, or tortillas, or other flat bread, and a dish of rice -- add a steaming bowl of broccoli and you have your meal done! Remember diced tomatoes in juice, not tomato sauce, cook until the chicken is done and well coated with the spice mixture and wait to add the coconut milk until the last few minutes for best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States