Indian Chapati Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Wonderful. I have been disappointed that none of the grocery stores in my area carry Chapati, but when I found this recipe I couldn't wait to try it. It did not disappoint. I will most likely make this often, and keep some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
My wife and I loved this recipe. Very quick and easy and turned out great. Used a stainless steel pan to cook in, will try a cast iron pan next time so clean up isn't so hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCFD Fire Station 6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
No more Indian restaurants for me!! Why go out if I can eat Chapati Bread this good. I tried it with the Chickpea Curry recipe submitted by Aminah A. Rahman. Fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John D'Eye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aldershot, Hampshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Orléans, Centre, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Super fast and easy. Start making the dough before your main meal, so it has time to relax for rolling. You'll be much happier rolling if you wait 30 minutes after forming balls. Tastes best when it gets dark brown spots and puffs up a bit. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIUKAT

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sayuri
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I did these tonight and they're excellent! They are great with some chicken curry! It's such an easy and good recipe my family's addicted to this bread by now. I find it's absolutely necessary to let the dough rest for about 30-45min. because by then it will be soft, easy to handle and it will cook perfectly and form little bubbles as soon as you put it on the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
great. for the hot water, I used broth from dahl I made. Served both together, yum. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CITEREH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I made this as directed and my whole family really enjoyed it. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Great recipe! I added tumeric, corriander powder and a pinch of sugar. Definitely will add to my recipe binder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Perfect chappati. So easy to make, and it was so much fun!! I added cumin seeds to the dough and it just totally brought everything together and complemented the indian food i served with it very well. I will always make this every time I make indian food now. It's too easy and way too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States