Indian Chapati Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
very tasty. i'm west indian and we make a similar "roti" so i know that its crucial to allow the dough to rest before cooking in order for it so get puffy (the longer the better but like others have said 30 minutes minium). in addition, i put the cooked chapati on a small bowl (smaller than the chapati) and microwave it on hi for about 20 to 30 seconds. puffs up each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
My Dad is Bangladeshi, and is also a good cook. One of the best things he made was chapati bread. I thought this recipe was FANTASTIC, and just like how he makes it!! THANKS!! I wanted to point out that its a good idea to leave it on the pan for a little longer than it recommends. Let it get a little dark-brown in some spots. It gives it that taste like it was actually made in a tandoori oven. That's my only suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TanyaR90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I served this flatbread with fresh taco salad. Very good! A little bit hard to roll out. For the 2nd batch I added another 1/4c olive oil - much easier. I also used this recipe for chicken turnovers. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I halved this recipe because I only wanted 5 for my husband and I with our Toor Dal and Indian rice...I added some garlic and onion powder...this recipe should get 10 stars for ease...and it tastes just as good...VERY close to the packaged bread we buy at out local Indian market..thanks for the SIMPLE and GREAT tasting recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Excellent Recipe! I didn't have any whole wheat flour so I just used plain flour instead and I also halved the recipe. They turned out very light and moist, and were great with a potato curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquie5786

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Always make this bread with curries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexdale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Marsaskala, Malta Island, Malta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
super simple and very good!! went great with my dinner my family liked them..will make again thanks for such an easy recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This is an extremely easy recipe that requires so few ingredients, most of us already have these things on hand. The important things to note are 1.) The thinner the better. Use more flour on your hands/rolling pin or alittle extra oil to keep the dough from sticking. 2.) Medium-High heat is best rather than full high as it gives the dough time to brown all over. and 3.) letting the dough rest for a few min after kneading seriously helps its elasticity. Give it a go!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanahope

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
It is a great recipe. I cheated and after rolling, traced a round bowl on the dough and I had perfectly round and delicious bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States