Indian Chapati Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This bread is fantastic (as long as you don't put too much oil in the pan!) It is so quick and is fantastic to serve along with a curry! i did add some cardomom seeds and a dash of cumin to the mixture for extra flavour, which was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Makes a great flat bread for gyros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREESERFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
In other recipes I have used for chapati, it says to let the dough sit (covered with a tea towel) for about an hour I think before cooking. I'm not sure how much of a difference that makes, but my chapatis did not turn out as well as usual this time and I wonder if that is why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This recipe was good, but it's easy to wind up with chapati that are hard and dry. To get chapati that are soft and flexible it is crucial that the skillet is very hot, as per the instructions, so that they are done in under 30 seconds per side. Don't be too stingy with the water or cut back on the oil. If your chapati are still too dry, try rolling them out thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
555 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This was OK, I was disappointed because it did not taste like the bread I had at the Indian Restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
this was great! i made thing tonight with 5 kids to have with the chicken with coconut milk. the kids all raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
i love this...i wont buy ready made chapati any more...my indian bf will be happy...i am learning how to make his food...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinky osi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cabuyao, Laguna, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
It was Foreign Food Night at our house and we were eating Kenyan food. Every Kenyan food list I saw listed chapati as a common food. It was my first time eating it and we all liked it. Super simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Wow! This was great! I added a pinch of sugar as others suggested, and I let the dough balls sit for 30 minutes. I wasn't sure what kind of oil to use. I used canola, which seemed to work, although the entire house ended up being very smoky -- we had to open doors and windows. I don't know whether that was the oil, something I did wrong, or just the nature of the recipe. Also, I doubled the recipe since we had company, but the smoke kept me from cooking all of the dough. I covered the remaining dough balls and stored in fridge overnight; they were fine the next day after sitting out to bring to room temperature, then rolling and frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Easy Indian Bread, great for last minute accompanying indian dishes. My friends and family loved it. EASY & FAST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States