Indian Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2000
I think the cauliflower would cook a bit better if 1/4" of water was added to baking pan. Makes a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
This is a fun dish to prepare and serve. In an earlier review, I forgot to mention that I have learned that I needed to bake the cauliflower in a *covered* dish, and increase the cooking time to at least 45 minutes. I like to serve it with a red lentil dahl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Awesome! The garam masala is a MUST! I cut the oil in half, and it was just fine. I had to microwave the baked cauliflower for 2 minutes - it wasn't quite tender. One tip: don't let the tomato curry sit and cool before serving because it thickens up too much. The next time I made this, I used only 1 Tbl. oil and diced canned tomatoes. After the sauce was finished cooking, I pureed it in my food processor. For the cauliflower, I steamed it in my vegetable steamer until tender, then did a 'rough chop' to get smaller florets (which is how I see this dish served in Indian restaurants). I then mixed the cauliflower into the pureed sauce. I will make those changes again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
I found a recipe for Garam Marsala on the 'net and tried this recipe. I didn't puree the tomatoes (used diced canned), and maybe not enough of them. The result was less than good. If I try again, I'll cut the cauliflower up to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
I had to leave my cauliflower in the oven for a lot longer than 30 mins for it to cook. I also used tomato sauce instead of pureed tomatoes and real garlic instead of garlic powder. The result was still a great tasting dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
Very good, I grated the onion and added some red chilli poder in the sauce too. Comes out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I will take full responsibility for the failure of this recipe........ We ended up throwing the whole thing out. Is is possible for turmeric to go bad? I followed the recipe completely. It was really awful tasting and my husband will USUALLY eat anything! Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I followed other's advice and cut the cauliflower into florets then tossed it in the tumeric oil. After baking for 20 min it wasn't done and was starting to look a little dry so I added a little water and let it cook for another 20 min. I didn't have garlic powder or fresh tomatoes so I minced 2 garlic cloves and 1 can of tomato puree. I think it came out very well and plan to make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I followed the advice of other reviews and chopped my cauliflower into florets before cooking. This dish turned out wonderfully and is even good reheated. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I don't know how to rate this because I changed it so much I couldn't really say that I made this recipe. If you are used to real Indian food you'll need to add spices (a lot)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States