Indian Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I like the flavor of this recipe but it did take a lot longer to cook than 30 minutes. I'm not sure why it is supposed to bake in the oven because the microwave is so much faster. Perhaps it's the texture but I'm not sure. The sauce was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Wonderful! Excellent vegetarian option I served mine over rice and my fiance inhaled it. Highly recommended. The only thing I changed is instead of pureed tomatoes I used 1 can tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azrefugee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Excellent recipe! Like other reviewers I chopped up the cauliflower head into florets before baking. Also instead of brushing on the hot oil I 'fried' the florets by putting them directly into the turmeric oil and tossing for a few minutes. I also put 1 tablespoon of water into the pan while baking the cauliflower. Used minced garlic instead of garlic powder and added 1/8 teaspoon crushed red pepper for a little heat. Also, as others have said, the garam masala is a MUST. I served it with saffron rice and my husband and I both absolutely *loved* it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Per other reviewer's recommendations, I cut the cauliflower in florets and increased the bake time to 45 min. (I did not need to add additional water). I used 2 cloves of garlic (didn't have garlic powder) and 1 can of diced tomatoes (didn't have fresh tomatoes). I did not heat the oil/tumeric mixture, but rather just combined and basted. I thought the tumeric was well balanced (I have over-tumericed before), and complimented the flavor from the garam masala (store bought mix). I have used "Pataks" to cheat when making Indian food before, but I found the tomato curry easy to make and a seemingly, a great base. I might try it with chicken or lamb and add a little scome chilies for heat. When I make it again, I will try charring the onions for deeper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
this was good, but it needs to cook WAY longer, and I had to triple the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minichef11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
We loved this! We will make it again and again! I liked it just as is, and I also liked it when I added some plain yogurt to the sauce for a creamy indian sauce. Creamy is big with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Excellent flavor and presentation. This was a big hit with my wife who always thought Cauliflower was "blah". The next time I make this I'll give the head a few minutes in the microwave first. I was concerned that the canned tomato sauce might not work. Wrong! It was fine. I served this with a home made Vindaloo sausage with Pistachios and Basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R Vennerbeck

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Foster, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
The cauliflower doesn't get tender enough ....you need to add a little water and cover when you bake it. Also extend the baking time. I love garam masala, but wasn't crazy about the combination with the cauliflower. This was edible, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
I don't know how to rate this because I changed it so much I couldn't really say that I made this recipe. If you are used to real Indian food you'll need to add spices (a lot)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I followed the advice of other reviews and chopped my cauliflower into florets before cooking. This dish turned out wonderfully and is even good reheated. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States