Indian Barbeque Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
EASY and DELICIOUS!!!!!!! I didn't use the meat tenderizer (don't have any), cilantro (out of that, too) and the yogurt (to cut down on calories). I broiled the chicken in the oven and it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I was testing new cookware, so I used a completely different cooking method, but I wanted a nice spice combination for a chicken to go with a curry potato side. This was PERFECT. I omitted the yoghurt on account of allergies, rubbed the chicken with lemon juice and followed with the spices. Absolutely succulent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
We live in a highly Indian populated area with access to some pretty good take out, so this was unimpressive to us... with that said I haven't found a better recipe yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This recipe, I agree had too much salt. I made it verbatum using drumsticks and thighs. Next time I would omit the tenderizer, decrease salt by half. I would reserve some of the marinade as a dipping sauce, warmed up of course. We grilled the chicken and it had nice carmelization and charred flavor from the crunchies,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was EASY and my friend from India loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Delicious...I had to baked the chicken instead of grilling it becaue it wouldn't stop raining in Atlanta and I just couldn't wait. Didn't use the meat tenderizer. Don't like the stuff and just whisked ingriedents in a bowl. I used Greek yogurt, that's all I had, I also used a Tandoori barbeque masala from the local Indian market. Worked fine. Had most of the spices called for in this recipe in the pack and what wasn't in there I just added. Personally, I would have liked a little more spice, maybe a little chile powder. The skin on the chicken was to die for...Excellent. I served it with Basmati Rice. Can't wait to give it a try on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Yummy! I made sure to marinate this a full 24 hours to maximize the flavors. Didn't add the cilantro, family doesn't like that all. I even rubbed the paste made before all the yogurt underneath the skin. Unfortunately, coals were not warm enough and it didn't get as crispy as I wanted. But it was good and I imagine when it is cooked over higher heat like it should, it'll be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I was sure excited to make this - a recipe right up my alley. The end result was pretty disappointing, though. I think I'd remove the skin from the chicken the next time - the flavour didn't make it past the cooking process. It sure SMELLED good, though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Edible but bland. Too much trouble for not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Almost identical to a recipe given me by an Indian friend. I omit the meat tenderizer and use chicken thighs or goat meat(which is traditional). Re marinating: 2 tips. Cut a slash into the chicken pieces, then use your hands to smush the marinade into all crevices. Second tip: Put the chicken and marinade into a ziplock bag for at least overnight in the fridge. I have also frozen the chicken at this point, then thawed out at later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook to the max

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States