Independence Day Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Thanks for this recipe! I added a few things into it, like 1/2 tsp of Vanilla extract and 1/2 tsp of Almond extract, just to give it a little more zing to the flavor. Oh, I also added some macadamia nuts into the batch, and it came out Marvelous! Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I just made these cookies last night for my familly's oath of citizenship celebratrion and to take to work to share my joy there as well! It was difficult to find dried blueberries, I don't shop at the right stores apparently, so I used blueberry juice infused cranberries (store-bought). The color pattern was not red-white- blue like I anticipated. For my cookies the color scheme looked like a typical golden brown of a sugar cookie wiht the dark read of the cranberries coming through... the white chocolate was kinda small to see. I did add the 1/2 tsp of vanilla as suggested before. Overall the coookies tasted great!! The juice from berries kept the cookies very moist and aromatic. The dough was easy to handle and I even mixed it my hand. The cookies once cooled just slide off the cookie sheets. The cookies are very filling and tasty. The cookie consistency was kind of flakey which made for an interesting texture contrast compared to the fruit not like a typical hard shortbread cookie. I don't have much experience baking, as this was only my 4th batch and 4th recipe to try, but I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Only made 1/2 a batch and then used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. The colors are great for any patriotic holiday. I made these for Memorial Day and they were a huge hit at the party. The did flatten out a little bit as they baked, but that may have been because of the butter that I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This cookie recipe was the best! I modified the recipe slightly after reading the reviews. I used 1 cup of butter and 1 cup of crisco and added 1 tsp of vanilla and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
OMG!!!! These are soooo good !!! I was only able to make half , but they are soooo worth it !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
The husband and I LOVED these. Used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening (since I didn't have butter-flavored shortening, I added 1/4 t. of butter flavoring), and I added 1 t. vanilla. The cookies came out moist and delicious--more people need to find this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
The colors are fun for July 4th picnics. The flavors of the berries and chips were yummy. The cookie base isn't anything spectacular - just a regualr cookie base. I cut the recipe in half and used half butter and half crisco (butter flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Pretty good, but nothing real special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made this for a 4th of July get-together and it was a HUGE hit! The batch makes a ton of cookies and not a single cookie had to be thrown away. I highly recommend these! It was so memorable that a guest at our house for Halloween mentioned she was a little disappointed we hadn't made them again. ^_^ Now we know what to put on future menus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I made the cookies exactly according to the recipe. The cookies have a very soft texture but are far too sweet for my tatse. I would make them again, but reduce the amounts of both sugars and white chocolate chip chips. Otherwise, the blend of cranberries, white chocoalte and blueberries is a very nice flavor combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States