Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I guess the other positive reviewers have never had real Italian Cream Cake. I'm not one to be harsh on other people's recipes, but this one is not correct. Problems: First, it doesn't make anywhere near enough batter for three 9 inch cake pans. Second, the cakes were impossible to free from the pans. You have to use parchment for this recipe. Third, the cakes do not rise. Italian cream cake is NOT supposed to be this dense. This was like a dry, greasy brownie. Solutions: 1. Use 1/2 tsp of salt, not 1 tsp of baking powder and, most importantly: 2. THE EGGS SHOULD BE SEPARATED. Blend the yolks in with the butter, shortening, and sugar, but don't add the buttermilk until you add the SIFTED flour, alternating both in small batches. Once the batter is mixed, beat the remaining egg whites until stiff peaks form, then fold this mixture into the batter gently. You may also add chopped nuts to the cake batter. These solutions will then fill three PARCHMENT LINED 9-inch cake pans, and when baked at 325 for 25 minutes, will turn out a true light, springy version of Italian Cream Cake. If you like the original recipe, that's great, but please, just don't call it "Italian Cream Cake." Because it isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1020 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I've made this cake twice now. The first time I followed the original recipe first and the cake was yummy. It was a bit dense however, so the second time I followed HJONES999 suggestions (except did not add the salt) and, OMGosh... It was sooo much better. The cake was light and dreamy! I would without a doubt make this cake again... over and over, but with the suggested changes. This cake rocks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Very good! This was the first made from scratch cake I ever made and it was awesome! The only thing i would do differently is sprinkle the nuts on top. The nuts mixed in with the icing made it hard to spread out without tearing the cake up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYSTALCHERIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I did not like this at all. I did not use coconut, and did not think it would matter, as other reviewers had done. This was a really greasy, oily cake. Perhaps the coconut would have absorbed some of the oil.----I'm changing my review. The next day, this cake was wonderful. I think it takes a while for all the flavors to settle. I had a piece an hour after I was finished frosting it--it didn't taste right. The day after, however, it was moist, flavorful and delicious. Four Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
What a moist, rich, wonderful cake! I made this for a co-worker who was getting married. I don't eat cream cheese so I didn't try it, but everyone just RAVED about this cake. There wasn't a slice left! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Truly is incredible! The first time I made it, the cakes stuck to the pan (even after greasing and flouring it). So the second time I used wax paper on the bottom of the pans, and it turned out great! I LOVE the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This is my SECOND review. Have made this cake somewhere around 7-8 times now. All in the past couple of months. WONDERFUL cake. Tried and then continued to use both in the cake as well as the frosing, vanilla butternut extract. Gives the cake a kick. Also, I doubled the frosting for increased amts. between layers and then only used 2 layers, freezing the third for the time. Made 2 at Thanksgiving and my family who are all chocoholic's were calling for this VANILLA recipe! Didn't give it to a sole! Love this cake! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hollys Taylor Made Treats
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I doubled this recipe and made a 11 x 18 sheet cake. There was a lot of batter and I even put some in a round cake pan. The cake has a good flavor, especially with the creme cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollys Taylor Made Treats

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Attica, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
This recipe really is incredibly delicious. I added a cup of chopped walnuts to the cake to make it a genuine Italian Cream Cake. It was as good as cakes I have tasted from bakeries or at restaurants. Everyone just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Hi there, I made this tonight. It was really good and much admired by the crowd. I made the following changes: I added 1/4 cup oil to the batter based on the "thick" comments I read on other reviews. On the icing, I forgot that others said that it wouldn't cover the whole cake easily, so I doubled the icing recipe, except I only had 8 oz of cream cheese so I got it the right consistency by adding cream till it worked well instead of an extra thing of cream cheese. The only thing I would do differently next time is possibly 1.5 the the recipe so that the 3 cake pans were fully loaded. When completed, I cut it like the restaurants do, so the pieces in the middle were all yummy and perfect, but the the perimeter pieces were a little dried out as they were too thin and got a little more done. It really was quite good. I found this review in the saved file, I just made it again on 8/26/08, again it was very good. I would say though, about the negative ratings, as a cook it always bothers me when people take a recipe, remove ingredients and then give things a bad rating. I know people who don't share their recipes for just this reason. If you *do* get their recipes, they have one motto: Make it exactly how it says in the instructions the first time, then after that do anything you want. It's a soapbox, but it's only fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States