Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
The icing should receive six stars; however, the cake was average. It was not what I expected for Italian Cream. I was looking for the bakery type cake and this just did not do it for me. I am leaving it in my recipe collection, though. I intend on trying it again with better results next time. I first used this recipe in 2004. FYI-do not double the icing. The recipe will produce more than enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I made this last night for my husband's birthday party and I was a little nervous trying a new recipe a couple of hours before a big party but it was incredible!!! I used a couple of 8" round Wilton pans (one deep, one normal) and I sprayed them heavily with Pam Baking spray to avoid the sticking other reviewers mentioned. Other than that I didn't stray from the cake recipe. It was moist and fluffy and they dropped right out of the pans perfectly. I doubled the frosting recipe and it was the best frosting I've ever eaten!!! The cake looked beautiful and after I let it all set in the fridge for about an hour it was perfect for serving. There wasn't a piece left!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mays Landing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Made this at Christmas time and everyone loved it. Yeah! I finally have a dessert I can make every year. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I have made this several times, Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Everyone said this is the best Italian Cream Cake they've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Starr, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This rating is for the frosting only (I used a different cake recipe). I loved this frosting, it was fantastic. I will use again and again. I omitted the coconut when I made it and I added a bit more butter and powdered sugar to increase the amount of frosting. I also make a unique variation of this by adding almond and mint extract to it instead of vanilla, turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3D's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Hi there, I made this tonight. It was really good and much admired by the crowd. I made the following changes: I added 1/4 cup oil to the batter based on the "thick" comments I read on other reviews. On the icing, I forgot that others said that it wouldn't cover the whole cake easily, so I doubled the icing recipe, except I only had 8 oz of cream cheese so I got it the right consistency by adding cream till it worked well instead of an extra thing of cream cheese. The only thing I would do differently next time is possibly 1.5 the the recipe so that the 3 cake pans were fully loaded. When completed, I cut it like the restaurants do, so the pieces in the middle were all yummy and perfect, but the the perimeter pieces were a little dried out as they were too thin and got a little more done. It really was quite good. I found this review in the saved file, I just made it again on 8/26/08, again it was very good. I would say though, about the negative ratings, as a cook it always bothers me when people take a recipe, remove ingredients and then give things a bad rating. I know people who don't share their recipes for just this reason. If you *do* get their recipes, they have one motto: Make it exactly how it says in the instructions the first time, then after that do anything you want. It's a soapbox, but it's only fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Deliciously moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Very good but make more frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States