Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
AMAZING!!!!! I used 100% seedless raspberry fruit spread for the filling and it so sets off the wonderful flavor of this cake! I didn't use the walnuts or coconut in the frosting and it was amazing too! THANK YOU for posting this wonderful recipe! The previous reviewer is right, this cake is even more incredible the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I made the recipe exactly as printed for my husbands' birthday, except I left the coconut and walnuts out - he doesn't like either one but he loves cream cheese frosting. It was really good that evening - everyone loved it. But the best was yet to come - the next morning as I was preparing his lunch for work, he requested a piece of cake in his lunch :0 After this wonderful cake sat in the fridge all night it fit it's name - "Incredibly Delicious" !! The cream cheese frosting firmed up perfectly and it sliced beautifully and it was REALLY good cold! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I've made a lot of cakes from scratch and so many have been a disappointment. Often too dry or tasteless. This is a great cake. Moist and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharFras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
The icing should receive six stars; however, the cake was average. It was not what I expected for Italian Cream. I was looking for the bakery type cake and this just did not do it for me. I am leaving it in my recipe collection, though. I intend on trying it again with better results next time. I first used this recipe in 2004. FYI-do not double the icing. The recipe will produce more than enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I made this last night for my husband's birthday party and I was a little nervous trying a new recipe a couple of hours before a big party but it was incredible!!! I used a couple of 8" round Wilton pans (one deep, one normal) and I sprayed them heavily with Pam Baking spray to avoid the sticking other reviewers mentioned. Other than that I didn't stray from the cake recipe. It was moist and fluffy and they dropped right out of the pans perfectly. I doubled the frosting recipe and it was the best frosting I've ever eaten!!! The cake looked beautiful and after I let it all set in the fridge for about an hour it was perfect for serving. There wasn't a piece left!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mays Landing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Made this at Christmas time and everyone loved it. Yeah! I finally have a dessert I can make every year. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I have made this several times, Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Everyone said this is the best Italian Cream Cake they've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Starr, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This rating is for the frosting only (I used a different cake recipe). I loved this frosting, it was fantastic. I will use again and again. I omitted the coconut when I made it and I added a bit more butter and powdered sugar to increase the amount of frosting. I also make a unique variation of this by adding almond and mint extract to it instead of vanilla, turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3D's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States