Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by mistandfog
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This cake was awesome! Because of time constraints, I baked the cake on a Sunday and made the frosting and put it together on a Monday. The frosting is sweet, but it sets up so nicely on the cake and it complements it perfectly. It also tastes better after a day or two. I think the cake tasted best at the end of the week. I made only a couple of small changes. I made the cake in two layers because I didn't have a third round pan available. There was plenty of frosting left over if I had wanted to make a third layer (in fact, the amount leftover after assembling the cake was the equivalent of about a container and a half of store bought frosting). I also left out walnuts (my husband has an allergy) and replaced them with slivered almonds. I left them out of the frosting mix itself. Instead, I toasted the almonds and used them on the outer sides of the cake. (I've posted pictures.) The results were fabulous, and I will be making this cake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was delicious. A tad dry, so I may add some sour cream to it next time, but really, really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This cake was absolutely delicious. I made it for Thanksgiving this year and almost didn't get a slice. I made it exactly as the recipe is written. I actually am about to make another one after I finish this review. You'll love this cake!!! Give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donae
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This cake was fabulous, I actually only had half the coconut, but it turned out fine...in fact, the entire cake was eaten and people could not top talking about how great it tasted! Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I liked this cake overall, but it wasn't as moist as I had hoped. I followed the directions separating the eggs, omitting the baking powder, and adding salt. The icing was outstanding. It saved the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This recipe was advanced for an amateur baker like myself. I adore Italian Cream Cake, so I gathered every single ingredient and trudged forward. I follwed the recipe precisely. An hour and two loads of dirty dishes later, my masterpiece was complete. This cake was a huge undertaking, but was so totally worth it. My husband said it was the best thing I have ever made for him! I've made it three times since and it has tasted the same every time! I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I made this cake for my daughter's birthday. It was a huge hit. It was oh sooooo good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Smitten
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
325 instead of 350, definitely separate the yolks from the whites, and baking soda instead of baking powder. Do those 3 things and it's 5 stars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This recipe for this cake turned out great and moise.. a great crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States