Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Cake tasted great . . but, couldn't get it out of the greased & floured pans. Do as HJONES999 recommends - use parchment paper. Also, I tried to keep it (slightly) GF - used 1-1/2 c. Brown Rice Flour & 1/2c white (wheat) flour - had great texture/taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb106

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I'll start by saying, I've never eaten Italian Cream Cake, so I have no clue as to whether this is "authentic" as some of the reviewers are debating - however - I do make a lot of baked goods and I know if something is tasty or not. This IS tasty. I also dislike when people change recipes and then complain about them. Having said that I have to admit, I had to change a couple of things because of ingredient snafoos. One of my Five eggs had a bloody yolk when I cracked it open so I only had 4 left to use. I replaced the liquid from the 1 missing egg with a 1/4 cup of coconut milk that I did happen to have on hand. I also ran out of white sugar (I KNOw, it's been one of those days)so I had to use 1 and 1/2 cup of white and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I baked it in two nine inch layers and they were done at just 20 minutes. Even with my ingredient problems the cake was moist and good. I'm giving it 5 stars just for being so adaptable. I'm still a chocolate lover so this will never be a favorite for me but it was moist and flavorful - even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksbouver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Everyone loved it at dinner last night. I too also made the adjustments as HJONES999 suggested. For the frosting I doubled the recipe but only used a total of 3.5 cups of confectioners sugar and only 2tbls of light cream. Turned out perfectly sweet for us. This is definitely a keeper and one that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was an okay cake. I took it to a pot luck and there was nothing to take home so I guess it was a hit with someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Please excuse the rating/review......I confused this recipe with another....will leave the 5 star rating because I am sure it is just as good as the other because the ingredients are almost identical....except the other is a sponge cake which is put together a little differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Very good recipe! Never made a cake like this before and I thought it turned out very well. I didn't have buttermilk so I soured my own and I soaked the layers of cake in a simple syrup/rum mixture before I iced it...also adding a little rum to the icing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpnLab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I didn't have any nuts, but other than that, I made this recipe true to it's directions and it turned out great! I love that it's dense and heavy...just how it should be. Wonderful taste and the frosting was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was my first attempt at a fully homemade, old-fashioned type recipe. My husband loved it! The cake was so wonderful, dense and moist all at the same time. I didn't do a very good job of greasing/flousing or papering my pans...so they did stick. Luckily I covered my messy cakes with that wonderful icing AND I covered the entire cake in chopped walnuts to disguise my mistakes! Next time I will only make 2 layers and pay more attention to preparing the pans. Overall, I still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lumberton, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This cake was absolutely delicious, as a matter of fact it was awesome! A Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
It was ok. The frosting is really good. But the cake needs to be worked on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States