Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This cake is light and very good. Will make it again. Picture perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I followed the advice of user HJONES999 and separated the egg yolks from whites and carefully folded the whites in after forming stiff peaks from my electric beater. Also, I alternated between adding buttermilk and sifted flour instead of just mixing the two. Used 1/2 tsp. of salt and did not add in the baking powder. I lined my pans with parchment paper. I didn't have light cream so I subbed in 1 tsp of half and half to get my icing to the correct consistency and it made just enough. The next time I make this recipe I will try to add in another quarter of the total amount of icing so the frosting is a little thicker. The layers are very thinly frosted and the top is covered but not as thick as I like it. I topped it off with crushed walnuts after reading another review that it could make the icing scratch the cakes. It turned out lovely, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
My new favorite cake. It is OMG GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This recipe is good, but fabulous cakes take precious time and measure .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Everybody loved this cake! I made it last Saturday to bring to a friend's house who was hosting an Italian themed dinner party. I made the recipe exactly as shown except I doubled the frosting recipe (and used most but not all of it). It was a huge success! Everybody kept raving about it and asked for the recipe. I did not think it was too dense. It was light, airy and delicious. I will definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Excellent recipe - I followed the recipe EXCEPT I used a 9x13 pan (greased and floured) and it was wonderful. Yes, it's dense, but this type of cake is, and I'm not a big fan of layered cakes, so everyone thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftysteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made this recipe almost as it was written and it was AMAZING!! I used a full cup of butter instead of the 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening. It has even been requested that I make it again, only a week later. I did double the icing, as a few folks commented it was necessary, and ended up with enough leftover icing for another cake. Wonderful recipe, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Way too sweet, absolutely no flavour, just dense and very sweet. Not a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Yes it is a good cake , but if you want an even better cake add 1 cup of drained crushed pineapple,and instead of 1 teas of vanilla, use 1/2 teas of vanilla and 1/2 teas of almond. Definately fills up 3 9" pans.I used Pam spray and also floured pans and had no trouble with them sticking to the pan. I let them cool 5 min in pan and then removed them,cooled them on baking racks until ready to icing.Sometimes sitting your cake pan in ice water helps relieve the sticking in the pan problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I can not give this recipe any stars. Terrible, too sweet, horrible taste, dense. I follow the recipe as written, but cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cup, still too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States