Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
My new favorite cake. It is OMG GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This recipe is good, but fabulous cakes take precious time and measure .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Everybody loved this cake! I made it last Saturday to bring to a friend's house who was hosting an Italian themed dinner party. I made the recipe exactly as shown except I doubled the frosting recipe (and used most but not all of it). It was a huge success! Everybody kept raving about it and asked for the recipe. I did not think it was too dense. It was light, airy and delicious. I will definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Excellent recipe - I followed the recipe EXCEPT I used a 9x13 pan (greased and floured) and it was wonderful. Yes, it's dense, but this type of cake is, and I'm not a big fan of layered cakes, so everyone thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftysteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made this recipe almost as it was written and it was AMAZING!! I used a full cup of butter instead of the 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening. It has even been requested that I make it again, only a week later. I did double the icing, as a few folks commented it was necessary, and ended up with enough leftover icing for another cake. Wonderful recipe, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Way too sweet, absolutely no flavour, just dense and very sweet. Not a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Yes it is a good cake , but if you want an even better cake add 1 cup of drained crushed pineapple,and instead of 1 teas of vanilla, use 1/2 teas of vanilla and 1/2 teas of almond. Definately fills up 3 9" pans.I used Pam spray and also floured pans and had no trouble with them sticking to the pan. I let them cool 5 min in pan and then removed them,cooled them on baking racks until ready to icing.Sometimes sitting your cake pan in ice water helps relieve the sticking in the pan problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I can not give this recipe any stars. Terrible, too sweet, horrible taste, dense. I follow the recipe as written, but cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cup, still too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This cake is amazing!! I made it EXACTLY as the recipe states and it was soooooooo moist and yummy. Everyone at home absolutely loved it and demolished it in record time. The frosting was also delicious even though I used plain flaked coconut instead of sweetened. I am very tempted to make another batch of frosting JUST for me. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mazza
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Made cake as stated I thought it came out good a little on the sweet side so I will lower the sugar on the frosting, the only thing I am still confused about is must it remain refrigerated or can I leave it out .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States