Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I loved this cake. I just made it for my fiancés birthday. I have never made this kind before. It was a little bit of a pain and took a long time since I added HJONES999's suggestions. Turned out great. Really sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Harless

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is one of my all time favorites, I'm baking for Thanksgiving this year, the cake is very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincolnton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I made this with the suggestion from the first reviewer. It was fantastic.i doubled the vanilla extract, added some lemon juice to the egg whites. I ground up the coconut in my ninja before putting into the batter so they weren't chunky. My husband says its taken the place of carrot cake as his favorite.6
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I made this for my boyfriend for the first time yesterday, it's his fav cake. Said it's the best he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Nester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Very good. I always butter the cake pans and coat with bread crumbs, instead of flour. Have always done all my cakes this way and is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This cake is light and very good. Will make it again. Picture perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I followed the advice of user HJONES999 and separated the egg yolks from whites and carefully folded the whites in after forming stiff peaks from my electric beater. Also, I alternated between adding buttermilk and sifted flour instead of just mixing the two. Used 1/2 tsp. of salt and did not add in the baking powder. I lined my pans with parchment paper. I didn't have light cream so I subbed in 1 tsp of half and half to get my icing to the correct consistency and it made just enough. The next time I make this recipe I will try to add in another quarter of the total amount of icing so the frosting is a little thicker. The layers are very thinly frosted and the top is covered but not as thick as I like it. I topped it off with crushed walnuts after reading another review that it could make the icing scratch the cakes. It turned out lovely, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
My new favorite cake. It is OMG GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This recipe is good, but fabulous cakes take precious time and measure .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Everybody loved this cake! I made it last Saturday to bring to a friend's house who was hosting an Italian themed dinner party. I made the recipe exactly as shown except I doubled the frosting recipe (and used most but not all of it). It was a huge success! Everybody kept raving about it and asked for the recipe. I did not think it was too dense. It was light, airy and delicious. I will definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States