Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I made this for my boyfriend for the first time yesterday, it's his fav cake. Said it's the best he has ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Nester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Very good. I always butter the cake pans and coat with bread crumbs, instead of flour. Have always done all my cakes this way and is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This cake is light and very good. Will make it again. Picture perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I followed the advice of user HJONES999 and separated the egg yolks from whites and carefully folded the whites in after forming stiff peaks from my electric beater. Also, I alternated between adding buttermilk and sifted flour instead of just mixing the two. Used 1/2 tsp. of salt and did not add in the baking powder. I lined my pans with parchment paper. I didn't have light cream so I subbed in 1 tsp of half and half to get my icing to the correct consistency and it made just enough. The next time I make this recipe I will try to add in another quarter of the total amount of icing so the frosting is a little thicker. The layers are very thinly frosted and the top is covered but not as thick as I like it. I topped it off with crushed walnuts after reading another review that it could make the icing scratch the cakes. It turned out lovely, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
My new favorite cake. It is OMG GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
This recipe is good, but fabulous cakes take precious time and measure .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Everybody loved this cake! I made it last Saturday to bring to a friend's house who was hosting an Italian themed dinner party. I made the recipe exactly as shown except I doubled the frosting recipe (and used most but not all of it). It was a huge success! Everybody kept raving about it and asked for the recipe. I did not think it was too dense. It was light, airy and delicious. I will definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Excellent recipe - I followed the recipe EXCEPT I used a 9x13 pan (greased and floured) and it was wonderful. Yes, it's dense, but this type of cake is, and I'm not a big fan of layered cakes, so everyone thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftysteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made this recipe almost as it was written and it was AMAZING!! I used a full cup of butter instead of the 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening. It has even been requested that I make it again, only a week later. I did double the icing, as a few folks commented it was necessary, and ended up with enough leftover icing for another cake. Wonderful recipe, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Way too sweet, absolutely no flavour, just dense and very sweet. Not a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States