Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I guess the other positive reviewers have never had real Italian Cream Cake. I'm not one to be harsh on other people's recipes, but this one is not correct. Problems: First, it doesn't make anywhere near enough batter for three 9 inch cake pans. Second, the cakes were impossible to free from the pans. You have to use parchment for this recipe. Third, the cakes do not rise. Italian cream cake is NOT supposed to be this dense. This was like a dry, greasy brownie. Solutions: 1. Use 1/2 tsp of salt, not 1 tsp of baking powder and, most importantly: 2. THE EGGS SHOULD BE SEPARATED. Blend the yolks in with the butter, shortening, and sugar, but don't add the buttermilk until you add the SIFTED flour, alternating both in small batches. Once the batter is mixed, beat the remaining egg whites until stiff peaks form, then fold this mixture into the batter gently. You may also add chopped nuts to the cake batter. These solutions will then fill three PARCHMENT LINED 9-inch cake pans, and when baked at 325 for 25 minutes, will turn out a true light, springy version of Italian Cream Cake. If you like the original recipe, that's great, but please, just don't call it "Italian Cream Cake." Because it isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
932 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I've made this cake twice now. The first time I followed the original recipe first and the cake was yummy. It was a bit dense however, so the second time I followed HJONES999 suggestions (except did not add the salt) and, OMGosh... It was sooo much better. The cake was light and dreamy! I would without a doubt make this cake again... over and over, but with the suggested changes. This cake rocks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
Very good! This was the first made from scratch cake I ever made and it was awesome! The only thing i would do differently is sprinkle the nuts on top. The nuts mixed in with the icing made it hard to spread out without tearing the cake up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYSTALCHERIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I did not like this at all. I did not use coconut, and did not think it would matter, as other reviewers had done. This was a really greasy, oily cake. Perhaps the coconut would have absorbed some of the oil.----I'm changing my review. The next day, this cake was wonderful. I think it takes a while for all the flavors to settle. I had a piece an hour after I was finished frosting it--it didn't taste right. The day after, however, it was moist, flavorful and delicious. Four Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
What a moist, rich, wonderful cake! I made this for a co-worker who was getting married. I don't eat cream cheese so I didn't try it, but everyone just RAVED about this cake. There wasn't a slice left! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Truly is incredible! The first time I made it, the cakes stuck to the pan (even after greasing and flouring it). So the second time I used wax paper on the bottom of the pans, and it turned out great! I LOVE the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This is my SECOND review. Have made this cake somewhere around 7-8 times now. All in the past couple of months. WONDERFUL cake. Tried and then continued to use both in the cake as well as the frosing, vanilla butternut extract. Gives the cake a kick. Also, I doubled the frosting for increased amts. between layers and then only used 2 layers, freezing the third for the time. Made 2 at Thanksgiving and my family who are all chocoholic's were calling for this VANILLA recipe! Didn't give it to a sole! Love this cake! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hollys Taylor Made Treats
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I doubled this recipe and made a 11 x 18 sheet cake. There was a lot of batter and I even put some in a round cake pan. The cake has a good flavor, especially with the creme cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollys Taylor Made Treats

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Attica, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
This recipe really is incredibly delicious. I added a cup of chopped walnuts to the cake to make it a genuine Italian Cream Cake. It was as good as cakes I have tasted from bakeries or at restaurants. Everyone just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
I made this cake for my daughter's birthday and it was so delicious. I did make a few minor changes: I used all butter flavored shortening instead of 1/2 butter, 1/2 shortening, and I left out the nuts, coconut, and light cream in the frosting. It seemed more delicate that way. I didn't think there was enough batter for 3 layers, so I just made two. This cake was moist, rich, and got rave reviews from everyone at our party. In fact, I'm making another one today just for us because the other just went too fast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARA_BULL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States