Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
this is pretty good...however i dont like coconut or walnuts but used chocolate chip shavings instead came out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AQUIETA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
There are no words for how moist and delicious this cake was. I made a few changes, I didnt add coconut to the batter(just on top of each layer). I added pecan to the batter and walnuts on top. I also used butter flavored shortening, butter & coconut flavorings. THE BEST SCRATCH YELLOW CAKE I HAVE MADE SO FAR (AND THATS SAYING ALOT FOR ME).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AQUIETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Believe it! It is incredibly delicious. I have been baking professionally for 10+ years, and this received rave reviews at my last gig. It is moist, flavorful, and delicious. I left out both the coconut and the pecans, because my client hates both! And still, it was DELICIOUS. Also, I used 1/2 cream cheese icing, and 1/2 buttercream for the purposes of easier decorating. Anyhoo... GREAT cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Excellent! However I increased the icing recipe by 1/2, as I didn't feel it made enough the first time. I did not have any problems loosening the cakes from the pans as some others have - both times I have greased and floured my pans liberally. I did not have to add the cream to the icing as it was the consistency was perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
The cake tasted great, but I had to make a couple of changes. I added 1 cup of chopped walnuts INSIDE the batter, and the icing needed more poweder sugar. Then I added 1 cup of whole walnuts as decoration to the top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This cake was so much fun to make. Very very sweet so a little cake goes a long way when serving. Made it for my father's 60th bday and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
AMAZING!!!!! I used 100% seedless raspberry fruit spread for the filling and it so sets off the wonderful flavor of this cake! I didn't use the walnuts or coconut in the frosting and it was amazing too! THANK YOU for posting this wonderful recipe! The previous reviewer is right, this cake is even more incredible the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I made the recipe exactly as printed for my husbands' birthday, except I left the coconut and walnuts out - he doesn't like either one but he loves cream cheese frosting. It was really good that evening - everyone loved it. But the best was yet to come - the next morning as I was preparing his lunch for work, he requested a piece of cake in his lunch :0 After this wonderful cake sat in the fridge all night it fit it's name - "Incredibly Delicious" !! The cream cheese frosting firmed up perfectly and it sliced beautifully and it was REALLY good cold! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I've made a lot of cakes from scratch and so many have been a disappointment. Often too dry or tasteless. This is a great cake. Moist and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharFras

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
The icing should receive six stars; however, the cake was average. It was not what I expected for Italian Cream. I was looking for the bakery type cake and this just did not do it for me. I am leaving it in my recipe collection, though. I intend on trying it again with better results next time. I first used this recipe in 2004. FYI-do not double the icing. The recipe will produce more than enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States