Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I never had tried Italian cream cake before. But I was looking for something different for a family gathering. I did make some differences in the recipe though... to try and make it a little healthier hehe. I used 2 eggs, and the rest were egg substitute. I used rice milk instead of buttermilk. Didn't add the coconut flakes, but put in coconut extract instead. Only had to bake it about 25 minutes. It turned out good! My family liked it alot. The frosting was yummy, I added 1/2 tsp. of coconut extract to that as well. So it had a light coconut flavoring along with the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I followed HJONES999 recommendations and this cake was WONDERFUL. It was moist and delicious. A friend actually made it for my birthday cake and it was great. I have since used the recipe several times for cupcakes... using no coconut to make a white cake and extra coconut and coconut flavoring along with lots of toasted coconut on top for coconut cupcakes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Outstanding cake. Instead of making this as a layer cake I made it a sheet cake (I know not correct for the purest among us but I'm more concerned with function & taste than with purestery). Was excellent. Right moisture content. Icing is beyond outstanding. Made this as birthday cake for my girlfriend's mother who is actually an educated homemaking teacher. She loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamjimmyweber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Good but not incredible. I've never made a cake from scratch so that was fun, or icing for that matter! All in all it came out well, tasted good, but I believe my box cakes still had a better flavor. The icing was very good though! But I did put too much cream I think (the 2 tsps the recipe calls for) because my refrigerated icing slid off the sides a bit and made my cake top slide a little on the bottom cake (I only did 2 layers, there is NOT enough batter for three! Or icing!) Also, I followed HJONES99's advice with the eggs and my cakes rose well. Although lopsided :/ I also lined the bottom with parchment and then nonstick sprayed the sides and bottom of the parchment and WAM cakes slid out by themselves! Also omitted coconut as my husband and I are not fans. Sorry for the novel. Overall, good cake but not sure if I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britnieann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hanceville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This is the best Italian Cream Cake I have ever eaten or made. It should be called the Incredibly Delicious disappearing Italian Cream Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windom, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Really great flavor...but very strange not cake-like conistency. I have had good Italian cream cake before and this is very different. It does taste good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Loved this!! I used this recipe for my son's Christmas birthday cake. Everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Made this at work. Big hit. It's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
A really good recipe. A little too sweet though. Used it for a school project and I'm sure it got a great grade! Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I've made this cake twice now. The first time I followed the original recipe first and the cake was yummy. It was a bit dense however, so the second time I followed HJONES999 suggestions (except did not add the salt) and, OMGosh... It was sooo much better. The cake was light and dreamy! I would without a doubt make this cake again... over and over, but with the suggested changes. This cake rocks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States