Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This recipe was advanced for an amateur baker like myself. I adore Italian Cream Cake, so I gathered every single ingredient and trudged forward. I follwed the recipe precisely. An hour and two loads of dirty dishes later, my masterpiece was complete. This cake was a huge undertaking, but was so totally worth it. My husband said it was the best thing I have ever made for him! I've made it three times since and it has tasted the same every time! I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I made this cake for my daughter's birthday. It was a huge hit. It was oh sooooo good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Smitten
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
325 instead of 350, definitely separate the yolks from the whites, and baking soda instead of baking powder. Do those 3 things and it's 5 stars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This recipe for this cake turned out great and moise.. a great crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Wow, this cake was amazing. It only lasted about 2 days and I think even then everyone was holding back and not seem greedy. I will be making this cake again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This cake was good but it could have been much better. Next time I'm using butter instead of shortening and tsp of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is a great recipe! As other reviewers suggested I did separate the eggs and folded in the whipped whites at the end. Also, the icing was a little too sweet for me so I'll probably cut back on the sugar next time. One last note would be that I used sweetened flaked coconut for both the icing and cake and it worked out fine. The cake was moist and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My family really enjoyed this cake recipe. But I do agree that this recipe doesn't produce quite enough batter to fill 3 cake pans. The flavor and texture was pleasing to us. I even wanted to use this recipe for my wedding cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moultrie, Georgia, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Delicious! It wasn't very hard to make, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Angleton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Made this cake for a friend's birthday and everyone loved it!! I mixed in the egg yolks first to the mixture then whipped up the whites and folded them in at the end (since that's what other recipes do). Used milk instead of cream for the frosting. Super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States