Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This was a wonderful cake with the modifications. My wife works at a restaraunt, I sent a large slice of cake to work with her. Well the owner stole most of the slice. Said he couldnt get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I decided to go with HJONES999 version, and THIS is how I remember it. Haven't had this in "years" and I can't wait to bring some to family and friends. I made this in 2 layers, and it's out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
made this using HJONES999 changes and did not have 3 pans and used 2 which took almost 45 minutes at 350 degrees to bake. Very good had nothing but rave reviews, but will try this again after purchasing my 3rd pan in a couple of weeks for a dear friends birthday. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MtnLady
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I made this recipe and I also made it with the changes suggested by HJONES999. It turned out very light and fluffy. I got rave reviews. I added too much light cream at first and got the icing a bit too runny but it was easily adjusted and I'm glad I thickened it up. I used chopped pecans in the cake and for the frosting I used pecans chopped up very fine and then topped it off with whole pecans spaced around the top. I was VERY pleased with the outcome. I would definitely make this cake again with confidence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MtnLady
Photo by Jenny Weaver-Beal
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This cake was awesome! Because of time constraints, I baked the cake on a Sunday and made the frosting and put it together on a Monday. The frosting is sweet, but it sets up so nicely on the cake and it complements it perfectly. It also tastes better after a day or two. I think the cake tasted best at the end of the week. I made only a couple of small changes. I made the cake in two layers because I didn't have a third round pan available. There was plenty of frosting left over if I had wanted to make a third layer (in fact, the amount leftover after assembling the cake was the equivalent of about a container and a half of store bought frosting). I also left out walnuts (my husband has an allergy) and replaced them with slivered almonds. I left them out of the frosting mix itself. Instead, I toasted the almonds and used them on the outer sides of the cake. (I've posted pictures.) The results were fabulous, and I will be making this cake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Weaver-Beal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was delicious. A tad dry, so I may add some sour cream to it next time, but really, really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This cake was absolutely delicious. I made it for Thanksgiving this year and almost didn't get a slice. I made it exactly as the recipe is written. I actually am about to make another one after I finish this review. You'll love this cake!!! Give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donae
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This cake was fabulous, I actually only had half the coconut, but it turned out fine...in fact, the entire cake was eaten and people could not top talking about how great it tasted! Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I liked this cake overall, but it wasn't as moist as I had hoped. I followed the directions separating the eggs, omitting the baking powder, and adding salt. The icing was outstanding. It saved the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States