Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Everyone loved it at dinner last night. I too also made the adjustments as HJONES999 suggested. For the frosting I doubled the recipe but only used a total of 3.5 cups of confectioners sugar and only 2tbls of light cream. Turned out perfectly sweet for us. This is definitely a keeper and one that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was an okay cake. I took it to a pot luck and there was nothing to take home so I guess it was a hit with someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Please excuse the rating/review......I confused this recipe with another....will leave the 5 star rating because I am sure it is just as good as the other because the ingredients are almost identical....except the other is a sponge cake which is put together a little differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Very good recipe! Never made a cake like this before and I thought it turned out very well. I didn't have buttermilk so I soured my own and I soaked the layers of cake in a simple syrup/rum mixture before I iced it...also adding a little rum to the icing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpnLab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I didn't have any nuts, but other than that, I made this recipe true to it's directions and it turned out great! I love that it's dense and heavy...just how it should be. Wonderful taste and the frosting was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was my first attempt at a fully homemade, old-fashioned type recipe. My husband loved it! The cake was so wonderful, dense and moist all at the same time. I didn't do a very good job of greasing/flousing or papering my pans...so they did stick. Luckily I covered my messy cakes with that wonderful icing AND I covered the entire cake in chopped walnuts to disguise my mistakes! Next time I will only make 2 layers and pay more attention to preparing the pans. Overall, I still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lumberton, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This cake was absolutely delicious, as a matter of fact it was awesome! A Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
It was ok. The frosting is really good. But the cake needs to be worked on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
i was raised in an italian family. this doesn't even look like an italian cream cake. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
meh. The instructions don't mention the need to beat the egg whites to stiff peaks before folding them in at the end. It's the only thing I changed the first time through... Passable, but I'll keep looking for that perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CartoonJunkie33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States