Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Made this at Christmas time and everyone loved it. Yeah! I finally have a dessert I can make every year. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I have made this several times, Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Everyone said this is the best Italian Cream Cake they've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Starr, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This rating is for the frosting only (I used a different cake recipe). I loved this frosting, it was fantastic. I will use again and again. I omitted the coconut when I made it and I added a bit more butter and powdered sugar to increase the amount of frosting. I also make a unique variation of this by adding almond and mint extract to it instead of vanilla, turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3D's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Hi there, I made this tonight. It was really good and much admired by the crowd. I made the following changes: I added 1/4 cup oil to the batter based on the "thick" comments I read on other reviews. On the icing, I forgot that others said that it wouldn't cover the whole cake easily, so I doubled the icing recipe, except I only had 8 oz of cream cheese so I got it the right consistency by adding cream till it worked well instead of an extra thing of cream cheese. The only thing I would do differently next time is possibly 1.5 the the recipe so that the 3 cake pans were fully loaded. When completed, I cut it like the restaurants do, so the pieces in the middle were all yummy and perfect, but the the perimeter pieces were a little dried out as they were too thin and got a little more done. It really was quite good. I found this review in the saved file, I just made it again on 8/26/08, again it was very good. I would say though, about the negative ratings, as a cook it always bothers me when people take a recipe, remove ingredients and then give things a bad rating. I know people who don't share their recipes for just this reason. If you *do* get their recipes, they have one motto: Make it exactly how it says in the instructions the first time, then after that do anything you want. It's a soapbox, but it's only fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Deliciously moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Very good but make more frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was really good. I took suggestions and cooked about 5-10 minutes less than instructed. As with all cakes, baking pans should be lined with wax paper. Icing is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This cake is amoung the best I've ever tasted. Try it and you will love it, too. Everyone that I know who has tried it, loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This cake is wonderful. I made it for a potluck for my husband and an older gentleman told me it reminded him of his mother's cake. What a compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plumerville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Russellville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States