Incredible Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I made this to accompany our Easter ham this year. It was SO very flavorful, and received compliments from all diners. I prepared the casserole through Step 3 the day before, and refrigerated it overnight. Immediately before baking the next day, I added the crumb topping (I also added 10 minutes to the baking time, because it had been in the refrigerator). I took the suggestion of another reviewer for adding even more flavor, and sautéed a bit of (sweet) yellow onion in the butter until translucent, before adding the soup. I used the grating disk and feeding tube of my food processor to grate the cooked and peeled potatoes with speed. To conclude: the end result was a VERY creamy casserole. I do believe that when I make it again, I will make it with 6 LARGE potatoes, so that the consistency will be firmer and more potato-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Family really enjoyed this dish. Instead of cornflakes I topped my casserole with more shredded cheese and buttered bread crumbs. Went great with our fried chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
This casserole is delicious! Everyone loved it! I used hash browns and it turned out great and was easy to make. Also, next time I make it, I may add ham to make it a main meal. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJLaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
A wonderful addition to a birthday brunch for my mum. I used a 1.5 lb bag of frozen hash browns, and added a 4 oz can of sliced mushrooms (love my mushrooms!). I spiced up the mix with creole seasoning, and baked for an hour. Delish! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Awesome!! I only made minor changes - I diced the potatoes instead of grating them, and I stirred the crushed cornflakes into the glass measuring cup I used to melt the butter (no wasted plastic bag). Yummy! Ate the leftovers for breakfast the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
GORGEOUS! Bravo! As recommended I subbed most of a large package of frozen hash browns. Topped it with French's french fried onions and a little kosher salt and black pepper. It was creamy, flavourful, quick to make - everything I was looking for. This is TOTALLY going in my notebook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
We have this all the time! It's a given to have with an Easter or Christmas ham as they go so well together. Due to time constraints, I don't grate the potatoes but just cut them into quarters after boiling and taking the skins off, and then mash them in the pan a bit with a fork. Works just as good as grating. Also we rarely have a box of cornflakes in our house so we just cook them with a bit of extra cheese on top. They're so yummy right out of the oven with the cheese all melted. Plus they're great the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aloha, Oregon, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I have been making this for years, and it is always a hit. I do add about 1/2 of a diced onion sometimes, which makes it even better. Glad to see this posted so others can enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Brooklet, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Delicious! I had to sub cream of celery because I didn't have mushroom and it was very tasty. I didn't shred the potatoes, just diced them up. The family loved it, I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This was delicious and everybody really loved it. I made it as directed and it has a very, light airy, whipped potato type texture because of grating the potatoes. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States